Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
First time for me making jelly and this recipe was great. Turned out wonderful, but I did get a bit of advice from a friend. Not all crab apples are the same, and I wasn't sure if my kind were okay to use. I have small green crab apples. They worked just fine. I added an extra cinnamon stick to the broth while boiling the apples and in order to get the pretty pink colour, I used ONE drop of red food colouring. I was very happy with the results :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Note the amount of juice you get depends on how much water you cover the apples with. I made 2 batches. The first one I barely covered the apples because I didn't want it to not set (a problem that I've had making other kinds of jelly before). I only got a cup and a half of juice so I used a cup of sugar. It set up very nicely. The second batch I got 3 cups of juice so I used 2 cups of sugar. It didn't set as well. I think if I'd boiled it longer it would've been ok. I will use the batch that didn't set well as syrup for pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fabulous! Everyone I give it to raves about it! I never get more than a few little jars at a time, but it is so worth it. I have started adding about 2/3 of the sugar to make it more tart, but it is wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My kids love this, mainly because they enjoy picking the crabapples. The last time I made crabapple jelly I had to add some pectin, so when you're making this, better have some on hand in case you need it. Also, preparing the apples is very time-consuming. Next time I think I'll coarsely chop the apples in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a good recipe. Alot easier than I thought. I however omitted the cinnamon stick because I just wanted crabapple jelly with no extra flavors. I have nice red crab apples and ended up having to use pectin because it would not set on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made jam using island jen's info on sugar/apple ratio with crabapple sauce...jelled at 200 degrees for me. Like your hint that they taste like cranberries...can't wait to play with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by island jen
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Used this recipe for my first time ever making jelly and it came out perfectly with my neighbors back yard crabapples (small, hard, red fleshed type). Just like the jelly my mom used to make! I also chose this recipe because my daughter's middle name is Mary Winn LOL! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
The recipe worked fine...I took the left over apples, put them through my hand miller and made some wonderful apple sauce. I added a cup of sugar and a pinch of cinnamon. It is very sweet/tart - but tasty and I used all of the apples. It will be a good sauce for roast pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great recipe. I used it last year when the crab apples were plentiful. Crab apples weren't as good this year but I canned some stock last year and used it today with this recipe. I didn't use the cinnamon stick but might try it next time. I like the lesser amount of sugar in this recipe as compared to others. Also, 1 batch I made last year took a few days to set, I was starting to worry when it finally did set. The other batches set immediately. In summary, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petunialuvur
Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used certo right away after reading reviews and still had to re-boil.IT took the second time and tasted just like I remembered my grandfathers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States