Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I followed the instructions but I double strained the juice. I also did the optional cinnamon. It was set quickly. For those looking at doing this plan a day. I filled a stewing pot with apples put water just over the top and brought it to a boil then let it simmer for about 2 hours, then stirred and started the straining process. They say to use a potato masher but you get more pulp this way. I used a spice masher tool which work. You get pulp so you need to strain again. Instead of throwing the pulp away now I can make apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Had great taste, but mine refused to set no matter how much pectin/certo I put in. I made 3 batches and none turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I died from it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
It took forever, probably because I strained mine three times each batch, but it was worth it. Consistency was different with each batch... first time jelly-maker here, so who knows what I did wrong! I thought I'd like the thicker jelly, but the runny stuff ended up yummier. A great recipe and fairly easy to follow for a first-timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
First time for me making jelly and this recipe was great. Turned out wonderful, but I did get a bit of advice from a friend. Not all crab apples are the same, and I wasn't sure if my kind were okay to use. I have small green crab apples. They worked just fine. I added an extra cinnamon stick to the broth while boiling the apples and in order to get the pretty pink colour, I used ONE drop of red food colouring. I was very happy with the results :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Note the amount of juice you get depends on how much water you cover the apples with. I made 2 batches. The first one I barely covered the apples because I didn't want it to not set (a problem that I've had making other kinds of jelly before). I only got a cup and a half of juice so I used a cup of sugar. It set up very nicely. The second batch I got 3 cups of juice so I used 2 cups of sugar. It didn't set as well. I think if I'd boiled it longer it would've been ok. I will use the batch that didn't set well as syrup for pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fabulous! Everyone I give it to raves about it! I never get more than a few little jars at a time, but it is so worth it. I have started adding about 2/3 of the sugar to make it more tart, but it is wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My kids love this, mainly because they enjoy picking the crabapples. The last time I made crabapple jelly I had to add some pectin, so when you're making this, better have some on hand in case you need it. Also, preparing the apples is very time-consuming. Next time I think I'll coarsely chop the apples in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a good recipe. Alot easier than I thought. I however omitted the cinnamon stick because I just wanted crabapple jelly with no extra flavors. I have nice red crab apples and ended up having to use pectin because it would not set on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made jam using island jen's info on sugar/apple ratio with crabapple sauce...jelled at 200 degrees for me. Like your hint that they taste like cranberries...can't wait to play with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States