Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I have been making crabapple jelly every couple of years (the trees only have apples every second year here). I had lost my recipe and was so glad to find this. I followed the recipe as written and the jelly is wonderful. Great in my Christmas baskets. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this as written in the recipe and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I picked my crabapples from a very old tree at the park, yellow with tinge of red. looked and tasted like our old tree when I was a kid, and my mom made the most delicious jelly. Followed the recipe, but it did not jell. Now that it is cooled and in the jars, can I return it to the pot to add the pectin. Also other jelly recipes seem to add more sugar and pectin. Please help as I probably will not be able to get these apples again this year. Is it totally lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Loved it!! Recipe was great and the jelly is delicious. Now if I could have more hands to pick, cut and wash all these little apples, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
My double batch came out perfect. I didn't bother removing stems, as it would have taken a week to do with small crabapples, so I cooked the apples with the stems, and mashed them in the pot after they softened. I added a large bunch of mint from my garden during cooking, and also added finely chopped mint leaves just before pouring into jars. Best tasting jelly I've ever made, and pretty color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I tried following the directions with this recipe and didn't have any luck. It just didn't set thick enough. I used the Sure-Jell pectin recipe for the second batch. My crab apples were the golf-ball dark red ones. I think my problem may have been that I used too much water to boil my crabapples in, so my juice was too watery. I followed the directions to use enough water for to see, but not to make them float, but I just don't think that's specific enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I followed the instructions but I double strained the juice. I also did the optional cinnamon. It was set quickly. For those looking at doing this plan a day. I filled a stewing pot with apples put water just over the top and brought it to a boil then let it simmer for about 2 hours, then stirred and started the straining process. They say to use a potato masher but you get more pulp this way. I used a spice masher tool which work. You get pulp so you need to strain again. Instead of throwing the pulp away now I can make apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Had great taste, but mine refused to set no matter how much pectin/certo I put in. I made 3 batches and none turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I died from it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
It took forever, probably because I strained mine three times each batch, but it was worth it. Consistency was different with each batch... first time jelly-maker here, so who knows what I did wrong! I thought I'd like the thicker jelly, but the runny stuff ended up yummier. A great recipe and fairly easy to follow for a first-timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States