Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Excellent! Did a batch this fall and it was great! Everyone loves my jelly and it comes out just as is says in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This makes delicious jelly, a bit tart and sweet both. Yummy on toast. Needs no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Its a simple recipe. There was a crabapple tree down the street that was loaded with crabapples. I had chopped up 12 cups worth, added water to level and boiled. Removed the mash and filtered. The muslin cloth works fine. Boiled with two cinnamon sticks and around 5 cups of sugar. The point about making jelly or candy is that you have to reach the right temperature. If not that means you have to keep cooking to remove water. Water boils at 212, sugar mixture boils higher (jelly 220). So keep cooking it to remove water and the temp will eventually climb. The sugar will get all bubbly. Once you reach 220, fill up your jars and enjoy. My jelly had a nice red color. I remember my grandma's jelly was much lighter pink. Its a bit of work but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
BEWARE: I made the recipe 10-16-13; It made four jelly jars full; (It took three quarts of crab apples to make TWO quarts to process.) I had a some jelly left after filling the jars and had it on toast. It was delicious, BUT soon after my lips went numb and I had chest and intestinal pains during the night. I've read where the seeds can produce cyanide. The recipe calls for cutting the crab apples in quarters before boiling/simmering, which I did but of course this cut many of the seeds in half, exposing the parts that can produce the cyanide poisoning. I read where you would have to eat a cup of seeds to be poisoned, but thought maybe cooking all the shredded seeds might have been the problem. It might be that I'm allergic to something in the recipe, but thought I should mention the possible hazard. Bill, McComb, Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I have been making crabapple jelly every couple of years (the trees only have apples every second year here). I had lost my recipe and was so glad to find this. I followed the recipe as written and the jelly is wonderful. Great in my Christmas baskets. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this as written in the recipe and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I picked my crabapples from a very old tree at the park, yellow with tinge of red. looked and tasted like our old tree when I was a kid, and my mom made the most delicious jelly. Followed the recipe, but it did not jell. Now that it is cooled and in the jars, can I return it to the pot to add the pectin. Also other jelly recipes seem to add more sugar and pectin. Please help as I probably will not be able to get these apples again this year. Is it totally lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Loved it!! Recipe was great and the jelly is delicious. Now if I could have more hands to pick, cut and wash all these little apples, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
My double batch came out perfect. I didn't bother removing stems, as it would have taken a week to do with small crabapples, so I cooked the apples with the stems, and mashed them in the pot after they softened. I added a large bunch of mint from my garden during cooking, and also added finely chopped mint leaves just before pouring into jars. Best tasting jelly I've ever made, and pretty color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I tried following the directions with this recipe and didn't have any luck. It just didn't set thick enough. I used the Sure-Jell pectin recipe for the second batch. My crab apples were the golf-ball dark red ones. I think my problem may have been that I used too much water to boil my crabapples in, so my juice was too watery. I followed the directions to use enough water for to see, but not to make them float, but I just don't think that's specific enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States