Mary Oppenhiemer's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I got this recipe off this website about 6 years ago... could it be that long? I think it was. I never post reviews, but I think that this one deserves a rave review. As a cake decorator, I've made this cake countless times over the years. It is dense and rich. Used it in wedding cakes and it perfect for 3D cakes. It is delicious. I love the flavor. I usually make this cake without the frosting following the cake recipe exactly. Sometimes, I'll add different flavors: ground almond (about 1/2-3/4 cup) and almond extract instead of vanilla or lemon zest(about 3-4 lemons) with lemon extract. Tried adding cocoa one time and that didn't come out that great. It is delicious with a chocolate buttercream frosting. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MishNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
My brother absolutley loves this cake! Tried it with butter and margarine, butter tastes much better. Did not like the carmel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLEYNMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This review is for the cake alone, as I made this into cupcakes and used a different frosting. I found the batter thick and luxurious. The cake was moist but not all that sweet, so it worked well with the buttercream frosting I topped it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
The Only change i made to this recipes was that i added 1 more egg.I was really worried about this being an heavy cake from the batter being a bit thicker than most cake batters.But to my Suprise this is a very light and moist cake!I will be making this again.Everyone loved it and i made this cake for a 4th of July Girl Scout picnic useing buttercream icing,decorating it to look like a huge slice of watermelon.None of it was left at the end of the day!THNX MUCH:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is a very dense, almost like a pound cake. It is really good, I don't make it with the frosting, I use a chocolate truffle frostin and it is sooo yummy. My family loves it. I used it when I want a rich, dense, buttery cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
..I Bow to Mrs Oppenhiemer!! This cake was Absolutely Fantastic!!! This cake had a great butter taste, was Moist,Delicious,and best of all EASY To make!!!!.I sliced it,and placed a Fresh Strawberry,Blueberry Mixture on top That was tossed with a small amount of Sugar,and then I topped That with some fresh whipped topping. Were talk'n Heaven Here!!.Thanks Again Mrs Oppenhiemer for leaving this to pass on to our generation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I don't know if I did something wrong because it had such high marks, but my family didn't like this one. It was really heavy, like a brick. The frosting was also too much - maybe I beat it too long. The recipe doesn't indicate how long to beat it. I was disappointed at the family gathering when we finally cut into this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I don't own a bundt pan, so I used a regular 9x13 cake pan for this recipe. I was a little worried it would rise too much for my pan, because I was also following the Oreo cake recipe with this cake (which by the way, I would not recommend). This cake's flavor is fantastic, and can't wait to make it WITHOUT the stupid Oreos & chocolate chips x) Thanks a lot! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a heavy cake that isn't very sweet. It's great when you're using a sweet frosting, and would make a great brunch style dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
'Only made one layer & increased sugar by half. Medium texture; light taste & color; a little dry. Dryness may be my fault. I didn't realize how light this was going to be when baked. It's still pretty light looking when it's done. Be sure to grease well - or you'll have to eat warm cake, too! :) K, 11 yrs, liked this one a lot. E, 14 yrs, liked it better than yellow clooney cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States