Mary Oppenhiemer's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
My brother absolutley loves this cake! Tried it with butter and margarine, butter tastes much better. Did not like the carmel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLEYNMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I don't know if I did something wrong because it had such high marks, but my family didn't like this one. It was really heavy, like a brick. The frosting was also too much - maybe I beat it too long. The recipe doesn't indicate how long to beat it. I was disappointed at the family gathering when we finally cut into this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is a very dense, almost like a pound cake. It is really good, I don't make it with the frosting, I use a chocolate truffle frostin and it is sooo yummy. My family loves it. I used it when I want a rich, dense, buttery cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Moist and delicious, this cake had an old fashioned taste to me. Will soon become a favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
..I Bow to Mrs Oppenhiemer!! This cake was Absolutely Fantastic!!! This cake had a great butter taste, was Moist,Delicious,and best of all EASY To make!!!!.I sliced it,and placed a Fresh Strawberry,Blueberry Mixture on top That was tossed with a small amount of Sugar,and then I topped That with some fresh whipped topping. Were talk'n Heaven Here!!.Thanks Again Mrs Oppenhiemer for leaving this to pass on to our generation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I see why this is award winning. Very good...'nuf said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
i would think dis cake is just alright.it would have been better if its not too sweet.will try vutting down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I really wanted to love this cake, but I didn't. Other's in my family loved it. I found it dry and the caramel icing to thick and sweet. I fought a losing battle with the icing it hardend to dang fast.Anyway i'm giving it 3 stars because of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
We loved this cake, particularly because the glaze recipe was very generous and provided lots of gooo for the cake. It was easy to do, and even my kids loved eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Really awesome! Thanks for posting it, it was just amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States