Mary Oppenhiemer's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This cake recipe is great. After reading the reviews I tried it because I wanted a cake that would hold its shape for and April Fool's Day spaghetti cake. It was perfect, sturdy but fluffy, moist and rich tasting. I covered it with a buttercream frosting and strawberry jelly (for the spaghetti sauce) and cocoa-krispy treat meatballs. I can definitely see this cake used as a wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This cake is not what thought it was going to be.. Don't get my wrong it was very good. I made cupcakes and they were not a sweet as i though. Instead I am using them as short cakes with Strawberries and whipped cream mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Makes me think of the old days when all cakes were from scratch and the baking of them was a special treat. Delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was *very tasty! However, after using it in a cake decorating class, I'll say basic icing is too overpowering to go with it. It's delightful on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATANAROGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this cake for work this week. It got rave reviews! I substituted half of the vanilla with almond extract. I did not make the frosting, but frosted it with buttercream frosting instead and had it decorated with a picture of a turkey. It was a very dense cake, but it made it good for decorating (less crumbs). I might try using more eggs next time to see if I can get it a bit lighter and fluffier. But I have to say thank you...I have a request from a co-worker to make a birthday cake for her using this recipe (she doesn't bake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
decent flavor the the cake is very very dense. Not going to make this one again for a traditional birthday cake. I baked it in a bunt pan and covered with a chocolate frosting from this website. The frosting was good, the cake was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Not bad. But kinda dry. I've made better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
The Only change i made to this recipes was that i added 1 more egg.I was really worried about this being an heavy cake from the batter being a bit thicker than most cake batters.But to my Suprise this is a very light and moist cake!I will be making this again.Everyone loved it and i made this cake for a 4th of July Girl Scout picnic useing buttercream icing,decorating it to look like a huge slice of watermelon.None of it was left at the end of the day!THNX MUCH:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I got this recipe off this website about 6 years ago... could it be that long? I think it was. I never post reviews, but I think that this one deserves a rave review. As a cake decorator, I've made this cake countless times over the years. It is dense and rich. Used it in wedding cakes and it perfect for 3D cakes. It is delicious. I love the flavor. I usually make this cake without the frosting following the cake recipe exactly. Sometimes, I'll add different flavors: ground almond (about 1/2-3/4 cup) and almond extract instead of vanilla or lemon zest(about 3-4 lemons) with lemon extract. Tried adding cocoa one time and that didn't come out that great. It is delicious with a chocolate buttercream frosting. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MishNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
this looks delicious. I cant wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States