Mary Mazzie's Anise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made these after making 4 other good kinds of cookies. Once my husband tasted these, the other cookies got barely touched til these were gone. You do have to grease the pan, and may have to adjust baking time just a bit, but these were sooooo good. I made a glaze from powdered sugar, milk and a few drops of anise extract and drizzled it on with a fork. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
These are easy and taste great. Be sure to grease the pan. The batter more like a cake than cookie don't let that worry you. Wonderful. I made these also in a lemon version: omit anise; add 1 Tablespoon lemon extract and 1 teaspoon fresh lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
This cookie definitly beats Stella Doro Anise Cookie!! This cookie is crisp on the outside and very soft on the inside. A big hit at my family parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
This is very simular to a recipe I made often as a teen, over 25 years ago. I loaned the cookbook that wan't returned and have been searching ever since. I am so excited to have this again. It's easy to make and everyone loved it. Have fun and enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Oh, yum! These are fantastic. My kids love them, my husband was curious about where I got them - he didn't think I could make something this good - actually, it looks and tastes elaborate, but is so easy to make. Be sure to grease your pan. The cutting and transfer to cookie sheet was easy. To toast them, I put the oven rack on a lower shelf then broiled on low for a few minutes. Similar to an anisette toast that I buy. Next time I will add a little more extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
These were really easy to make and turned out just great! Just enough anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WendyMami
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This is definitely a biscotti and not a cookie. It is a good base recipe for a soft sponge biscotti. I made this with brown sugar, cinnamon and lemon extract. I would put 2 tsp of extract next time for a more definite lemon taste. I glazed the top added sprinkles for more sweetness and a festive look in the photo. Make a nice big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WendyMami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
a very easy biscotti with wonderful flavor...will use from now on for my biscotti...might try some orange and lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kookiefool
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were beyond expectations and were not only easy to make, they were so delicious. I have been having a hankering for the anisette sponge I used to get many years ago when I lived in New York and these were right on the money, if not even better. The flavor and texture were perfect. They look beautiful and I am proud to serve them. Definite keepers. And they didn't even fall apart while slicing like ordinary biscotti. i plan to try them next with some candied fruit and nuts, which is my favorite. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
these should just be called biscotti. especially if you follow the recipe exactly and put them back in the oven to brown on both sides. next time, i'll only pop them back in to toast one side. also, would be nice if these had some sort of icing on the top. they're very plain. or rather the anise flavor is very delicate, which is nice for a mature pallet but not that exciting. overall, would prob make this again bc i have a lot of anise extract, and no other recipes that call for it are this easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States