Mary Anne's Moist and Nutty Carrot Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe. It takes time to grate the caarrots but other than that it's very simple to make. I did find that it takes longer than 45 minutes to bake. More like 1 hour, 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
I love this bread. Chopping the carrots in a processor made the preparation time quick and simple. I have made it several times. Delicious! Thank you so much. josie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Very moist. Great taste too. I had a 1/2 can of mandarin oranges left over, so I put them in the food processor and added them to the mix. I also used golden raisins instead of the regular kind. I also had to cook it a little longer - 14 more minutes at a lower temp of 350. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I made this loaf in 5 small loaves. It was very easy to make and is very moist and tasty. This is one recipe that I will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
These were really good! I made a couple of changes. I substituted light brown sugar for the white, and added 2 tsps of vanilla extract. I baked as muffins...and they are so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
this is great! the modifications I made were adding vanilla (2tsp), and half brown/half white sugar. I also used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1 cup oil. I only added 1 cup of raisins, and am assuming the pineapple is to be drained. I squeezed it out very well before adding. This is a thinner consistency bread so I was concerned that raisins would sink to bottom and slightly scorch but they didn't. Sprayed with "Pam for baking" spray and they slid right out of the pan. I do like a spicier bread so added 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. I only had the small baby carrots so used 2 cups of shredded carrot. This is super moist and would make great muffins too! Could easily sub. shredded apple for the carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This loaf is very good - not too sweet and very tasty. I followed the recommendations of other members and made the following adjustments: - instead of 2 cups of white sugar I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar -instead of 1.5 cups of oil I used 1/2 cup of apple sauce and 1 cup of oil - added 2 tsp vanilla - baked for about 1 hour and 10 minutes at 350 degrees (I started off at 375 but quickly realized this would be too hot for my oven) I'll be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made it and gave it to my grandmother. She really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
It took me just over an hour to cook the loaf right through at 190 degrees celcius and I have an electric oven. I have now added this recipe to my book, as it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I was looking for a different spice quick bread and this was it! I had to change this a bit, to use what I had on hand. I used about a cup and a half of prepared matchstick carrots and omitted the raisins and nuts, as I didn't have any. I thought the recipe looked a bit "wet" and I was afraid that it might have an issue with being raw in the middle. I used one stick of melted unsalted butter and a half cup of vegetable oil instead of the cup and a half of vegetable oil. I also used two tsp., give or take, of pumpkin pie spice. I baked it at 350, instead of 375 because I thought that might be a little too high and cause the not-quite-done center. I was right. About 50 minutes took both loaves to be done perfectly. I also suggest to take a piece of foil big enough to just lay over the breads to keep from getting too brown on top. Very good! Very, very good. My kids inhaled this and asked for more. I'll be sure to make this again, but next time I will add the nuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States