Mary Anne's Moist and Nutty Carrot Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I would prefer the carrots measured by cups. Carrots vary in size, and three carrots is confusing to someone who has never made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I couldn't be happier with this recipe (with my substitutions - substituting agave nectar for sugar, adding flax seed, substituting applesauce for half the oil). It is truly a SUCCESS STORY. Left a loaf in the break room at my new job - coworkers raved about it! Met my boyfriend's family for the first time over Thanksgiving, brought 2 loaves with me - his family LOVES me now, and ALL the women (including his mother and grandmother) asked me for the recipe. They were shocked when I confessed that I'm not a baker, and when I told them the loaf was healthy! THANK YOU MARY ANNE! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made a vegan version of this using egg substitute instead. I also subbed pear butter for pineapple. Instead of using 1 1/2 c oil, I used 1 c of the liquid I had leftover from making apple butter (it was more like a syrup) and 1/2 c oil. It turned out super moist and awesome. I gave a loaf to a friend and her family devoured it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are fabulous!! first time I made them exactly, and now for second time, I made 1 loaf and 12 jumbo muffins... I used a drained 20 ounce can of pineapple, because that was what I had. I substituted 1 1/2 cups of the flour for 1 cup oat flour and 1/2 of wheat germ.. substituted half of the oil with applesauce, and used 1 cup each brown and white sugars.. and still turned out absolutely perfect. Thank you for sharing the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Delicious! I followed the receipe exactly and made a dozen muffins and one loaf instead of two loaves. Very moist. Diane White Rock, British Columbia, CANADA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
exactly what i was looking for! the changes i made (followed reviews) werent taste affectors. i halved the flour with oats ( im obsessed with oats), used castor sugar/brown sugar instead of white and baked at 350 deg. i also used a larger bread pan and made a dozen muffins (baked at 350 for 20 minutes). iwanted a nice loaf to give as a gift and this fits the bill. its just sweet enough and super moist! id have to disagree with putting vanilla in the loaf as it might make it taste more like a cake and thats not at all what this is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This turned out great! I added 1/2 t. powdered ginger and 1 more heaping t. cinnamon. I slightly drained the pineapple by draining most the liquid and not squeezing the crushed pineapple. Healthier substitutions: 1 c. applesauce (no oil), use half white and half brown sugar. 350 Degrees for 45 min. worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I ran out of oil and only had 3/4 cup. Even with less oil than called for, this bread was very moist. I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and it was plenty sweet. I added more cinnamon than called for and also added cardamom with the other spices. I only had 1 9 x 5 loaf pan so made the rest of the batter as large muffins. Surprised that this recipe calls for 6 eggs as most sweet breads usually only call for 1 or 2. Came out great and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I felt this was a bit sweet and sticky. I made it to take to the office, and many people said they would have prefered raisins in it instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I liked this bread it was tasty but there was just too much stuff in it for my taste, I think I will leave out the rasins next time it just seemed like there was too much going on. Also I was not sure if I should put in the juice from the pineapple or not, I just added it and the bread was super moist. It certainly lives up to it's name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grukimbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malta, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bancroft, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States