Mary Anne's Moist and Nutty Carrot Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I just baked this bread. I haven't tasted it yet but it has been a big disappointment . I followed it exactly but the time stated for baking the bread leaves it undone. I have tried to fix this I have put it in the oven 4 times now adding more baking time but it still isn't done. The author of this recipe should edit the time on this recipe it is misleading
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
It turned out very nice in spite of my forgetting oil! I also included the whole can of crushed pineapple, juice and all, substituted cranberries, and kept out the nuts. It was heavy, but still moist, so I call it a success. It's the first sweet thing I've made in about 10 years. Bread is what I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreadMan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Living In: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
A special kind of loaf! An impressive sweet to bring to a party. Tart, moist, delicious. I halved the recipe (12 servings) and made the following substitutions: 1 cup whole wheat, 1/2 cup white flour; 1/2 cup brown, 1/2 cup white sugar; 1/3 vegetable oil, 2/3 applesauce; 2/3 cup raisins, 1/3 cup dried cranberries; added 1 tsp of pumpkin spice and 1 tsp of vanilla. I used finely chopped baby carrots since I didn't have the big ones nor a grater on hand (this came out yummy in the loaf, like little chunks of carrot every once in a while). Batter filled two loaf pans, 7" x 5" x 1", coated with canola spray oil, baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Served warm at house party and it was a hit. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I followed the recipe almost to a 'T', only leaving out the raisins and nuts 'cause I didn't have any. The end result was 2 SUPER TASTY OILY LOAVES. The baking time and/or temp was off. I set the temp at 375 as stated but the loaves were not done at the 45min mark as listed in the recipe. I dropped the temp and baked an extra 15min. Although my kids liked the taste, next time I will definitely cut down the oil, and bake at 350 as another reviewer suggested. I also decided not to share this with my neighbour. 3 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This recipe is very good and easy to make. A couple of notes: (1) I followed the recipe to the letter with one exception. I just had a bag of baby carrots and I chopped those in the food processor until I had 2-cups...which is the amount suggested in another review. (2) I drained the pineapple and I think it would have been a mess had I not. (3) This absolutely takes longer than the stated 45-minute cooking time. Based on other reviews, I expected this so I set the timer for 50-minutes and started checking it at 5-minute intervals at that point. The toothpick test failed until (my estimate) 1-hour and 7m. The loaves looked way too brown at that point, so I was sweating whether I burned them but that wasn't the case. Based on taste and ease, this should probably be a 5-star recipe but it loses a point since the cooking time was so off and it made me sweat. :) And, yes, I realize that cooking times vary by oven, but they shouldn't vary that wildly. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times, but cut it in half to make one loaf. There is something wrong with the cooking time or temperature, so I bought a larger loaf pan, 10x5, +and tried it again, this time in a convection oven instead of electric. It took 60 minutes to bake and the edges burned. In a 9x5 pan, the recipe took about 75 minutes with the same result. It is a very tasty recipe, but the cooking time or temperature is off. I wish I knew how to adjust the recipe to get a golden brown, moist loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I couldn't be happier with this recipe (with my substitutions - substituting agave nectar for sugar, adding flax seed, substituting applesauce for half the oil). It is truly a SUCCESS STORY. Left a loaf in the break room at my new job - coworkers raved about it! Met my boyfriend's family for the first time over Thanksgiving, brought 2 loaves with me - his family LOVES me now, and ALL the women (including his mother and grandmother) asked me for the recipe. They were shocked when I confessed that I'm not a baker, and when I told them the loaf was healthy! THANK YOU MARY ANNE! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made a vegan version of this using egg substitute instead. I also subbed pear butter for pineapple. Instead of using 1 1/2 c oil, I used 1 c of the liquid I had leftover from making apple butter (it was more like a syrup) and 1/2 c oil. It turned out super moist and awesome. I gave a loaf to a friend and her family devoured it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are fabulous!! first time I made them exactly, and now for second time, I made 1 loaf and 12 jumbo muffins... I used a drained 20 ounce can of pineapple, because that was what I had. I substituted 1 1/2 cups of the flour for 1 cup oat flour and 1/2 of wheat germ.. substituted half of the oil with applesauce, and used 1 cup each brown and white sugars.. and still turned out absolutely perfect. Thank you for sharing the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Delicious! I followed the receipe exactly and made a dozen muffins and one loaf instead of two loaves. Very moist. Diane White Rock, British Columbia, CANADA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States