Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
SUPERB!! I tried this recipe because I needed to make two cakes as gifts right away. Very moist!! The first time I made this it was crumbly and a bit greasy. I modified it to just 1 cup of oil, added 1 tsp real vanilla extract and scaled back to just 1 cup raisins. Blend (not stir) the first 4 ingredients then beat mixture for 1 minute after adding each egg, it makes a great difference in the texture. For the "nutty" taste I folded in 1 cup walnuts with the raisins. Pour on a warm buttermilk or creamcheese glaze and YUMMMM!!! I have made it 3 times since and it is quickly becoming a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very good with a few modifications. I halved the recipe as I only wanted 1 cake. As per another review, I only used 1/2 cup oil added walnuts. I also used brown sugar instead of white, added 1/2 tsp baking powder. Next time I will try adding some more carrot and spices to it, and even less oil (I can't handle too much oil). I baked this in mini-bundt muffin pans to serve as individual desserts and only modified the baking time to 22mins. They looked lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Very Yummy! got compliments that this was the best carrot cake they had ever had. Halving the recipe will fill 2 round pans-bake 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I halved the recipe and made 6 4-inch mini cakes to give away as gifts. I added nutmeg, cloves and ginger, and also threw in some sliced almonds that I needed to use up. This cake is not too sweet, which I really like since my cream cheese frosting recipe is pretty sweet. Next time I might substitute applesauce for half the oil since it was a bit oily, but that's the only change I might make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Too oily and heavy for my liking. If you don't use bundt pans you can use 1 9x13 and 1 9x9 (just cook for 5-10 minutes longer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Wow! Have to say this was really good. Very moist and flavorful. Used no-sugar applesauce, half brown sugar half white, and walnuts instead of raisens. The carrot, pineapple and nuts give it a really nice (and slightly colorful) texture. Made it for my husband's birthday - carrot is his favorite - and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
this recipe is great!..thanks only changes i made were using whole wheat flour to keep it healthy, using 1.5 times the recommended carrots. i didnt have any pineabpples handy so i used apple sauce and it come out great too...thanks for this great recipe..i'll surely use it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Without a doubt, the most delicious and decadent carrot cake I have ever eaten - I wish I could only eat this cake for the rest of my life *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This is a moist and fluffy carrot cake. I was looking for something more dense, but this is good. Boyfriend said it's the best cake I ever made. Instead of 1 cu of raisins, I put in 1 cu of crushed walnuts. Next time I'll put in 1/2 cu more. I also followed a users comment and cut the oil to 1 cu. Did anyone taste the baking powder like I did? That's my only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is absolutely the best carrot cake I have ever made.It was so easy and turn out moist with a lovely texture.Didn't have any raisins so I replaced them with walnuts.They combined well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States