Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
WOW! WHAT A GREAT CARROT CAKE. I MADE THIS FOR MY DAUGHTER-IN-LAWS FESTIVAL, I THINK THAT SHE WILL BE PLEASED. I MADE THE CHANGES (1 CUP OIL, 1 CUP RAISINS, AND ALSO ADDED THE PURE VANILLA. WHAT A WONDERFUL CAKE! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
this recipe is great!..thanks only changes i made were using whole wheat flour to keep it healthy, using 1.5 times the recommended carrots. i didnt have any pineabpples handy so i used apple sauce and it come out great too...thanks for this great recipe..i'll surely use it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
OMG! This is a keeper! This is now my official carrot cake when I make it. SOOO moist with a crisp top. I halved the recipe since I only needed one round 9" cake to make the Eater bunny in the video on this site. The only think I changed was the sugar. I only had light brown sugar in the house so I used that instead of white. I'm sure it's just as good with white, I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I took this carrot cake to a bible study and everyone was fighting to take some home. This is my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is absolutely the best carrot cake I have ever made.It was so easy and turn out moist with a lovely texture.Didn't have any raisins so I replaced them with walnuts.They combined well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I don't know how the original tastes but we made muffins with the following changes and my kids are scarfing them down. I halved the recipe Substituted applesauce for the oil Used 1 c sucanat organic natural sugar instead of white sugar used whole wheat flour instead of white omitted the raisins (as my kids can't eat these yet) tossed in a couple tablespoons flax seed meal Baked for 15 minutes. This will be a great healthy breakfast or lunch snack. I don't know how it will keep after a day or so but coming out of the oven they sure are yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Excellent! My husband went back for seconds. I added about a tablespoon of grated fresh ginger to the carrots. Served it with fresh, sliced strawberries. Next time, I will try to make some frosting for it, because this time the cake didn't last long enough to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Used shredded carrots (from bag at grocery store) and chopped them. This cake was Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
The only change I made to this recipe is that I scaled back on the oil to only one cup as suggested per other reviewers, and I used individual mini-bundt pans because I was taking this to my boyfriend's family's house for Thanksgiving. The cake was so moist it was actually mooshy, and it was hard to take out of the mini-bundt pans, I had to use a spatula to scrape it off the sides. I tried baking them longer, but it only added to my array of problems. My boyfriend's family said that it was really good, but i think they were just being polite. I personally didn't like it, and I'm not at all picky with my desserts as i have an insatiable sweet tooth. I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by With A Twinkle In Her Eye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I halved the recipe and made 6 4-inch mini cakes to give away as gifts. I added nutmeg, cloves and ginger, and also threw in some sliced almonds that I needed to use up. This cake is not too sweet, which I really like since my cream cheese frosting recipe is pretty sweet. Next time I might substitute applesauce for half the oil since it was a bit oily, but that's the only change I might make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States