Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
If you like carrot cake with "stuff" in it, then this recipe is for you. The pineapple, shredded carrot, and raisins make this cake more like a fruit cake. It's the best carrot cake recipe I've ever found, and it's easy. My 10-year-old daughter made it for my birthday. We used a standard round pan instead of a Bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
this is the best carrot cake i ever made and had and about ten others agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I absolutely love this carrot cake. I just finished testing this desert with my godchildren who asked for more! I am going to a recipe party next week and know what iam bringing! Moist, flavorful desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
REDUCED SUGAR VERSION: I replaced the white sugar with a splenda mix, reduced the oil by 1/2 cup, added a 1/2 teaspoon allspice. (I wanted to use applesauce, but I didn't have any.) I baked the cake in two 9" rounds for ~30-35min then frosted it with a (store-bought) reduced sugar cream cheese frosting. The overall effect was fantastic! You couldn't tell it was "missing" sugar and the cake was soft and moist without being greasy. I am not a fan of carrot cake, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Great recipe! I halved the recipe to make one cake, and added walnuts. This is the best carrot cake I've ever had :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Conner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Absolutely fabulous in every way! Nothing more to say! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was a delicious carrot cake but I don't understand why the word "nutty" is in the description since there are no nuts in it. I'm sure you could add them, though. I think it calls for too much sugar especially with the pineapple so I reduced the amount to half. Plenty sweet enough. Thanks for a great recipe:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I took this cake to a party and people loved it so much that I caught the vegan sneaking bites! I cut the oil in half and added a cup of walnuts and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This cake is amazing. It is moisty because of the pinneaple and it can be used as a wedding cake...it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very moist! The first time I made the cake (4/23/09), I did as directed except I cut the recipe in half. On 7/3/09, no crushed pineapple in the house so used pineapple "tidbits". Call the results an 'error in progress' because cake was too dry. Lesson well learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States