Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
If you like spiced type of cake, you'll like this and it's a great addition to your holiday festivities. I have a favorite carrot cake already but this recipe needed a picture. Overall, it was good; I left out the raisins, otherwise, no one would've touched it and also reduced the recipe to fit a 9x9. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and candied carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING! The only changes I made was switching out 1 of the cups of white sugar with golden brown sugar and added one cup of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristifrancis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very good!!! Hubby gave it a big thumbs up. I made half recipe for 1 cake. I didn't have raisins so I substituted 1 yellow delicious apple finely chopped. I used 1 cup of white and 1 cup of brown sugar & through in 1/2 cup of old fashion oats along with a little extra cinnamon, and 2 - 8oz. cans of crushed pineapple. I put about a tablespoon of the reserved pineapple juice in the frosting. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Moist from all the oil! Too much oil,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great moist cake....I followed the other reviewers advice and reduced the oil, replaced pineapple with applesauce and since I didn't have raisins, used walnuts instead. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
A huge success!!! I made carrot cupcakes using this recipe for my twin"s birthday (they go to separate schools) and what a big success!!! Everyone raved about 'em and are asking for the recipe. I added a little more of the spices and a tsp of vanilla to the batter and about 1/3 cup more of the raisins. Topped them with cream cheese frosting. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made the full recipe and it was enough for a 9 X 13 and a 8 X 8. I followed the recipe exact but added some chocolate chips to the 8 X 8 for the kids. I topped both with a cream cheese frosting. The flavor is good but I found it to be a bit dry which surprised me since so many reviews said it was moist. I guess I possibly cooked it too long but checked it and took it out as soon as a toothpick came out clean from the center. I consider it okay but not fantastic. I'm still going to look for my "go to" recipe for banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were great, moist and healthy. To make them more lowfat I pureed a drained can of great northern beans to replace the oil. And to use less sugar I added 1 ripe banana and 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the sugar. I also increased the (whole wheat) flour and cooking time to make up for added moisture .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
The best!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was the best carrot cake i've ever eaten! I halved the recipe and it still made a large cake. I also added walnuts. Even the people who normally don't like carrot cake were impressed with how yummy it tasted. This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baker, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States