Marty's Thai Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made this for a large group of people and everyone loved it! It was so yummy! I made a few changes to adapt to what i had, or could find at the local grocer, i could only find tamarind chutney, so i used that, i couldnt find muscavado sugar, so i used brown sugar, i used natural peanut butter, and added a bit of yellow curry powder to the sauce. It was too cold outside and my bbq was tempermental so i baked in a 375 oven until they looked done. SO MOIST. huge success and i would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
this was exceptionally good and very well received. the marinade never thickened and i worried about that a bit, but it still tasted great. the satay sauce tasted like something i'd get in a restaurant. i'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was unable to find tamarind paste, lemon grass, or muscovado sugar - so I substituted Worcestershire sauce, lemon zest, and brown sugar. Delicious despite the substitutions. Peanut sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe - I even found it very kid-friendly! As usual I tweaked it some, but the tastes and textures are all outstanding as written. I sauteed the chicken instead of grilling and served it over linguini noodles with toasted sesame oil, then ladled the sauce over all. A side order of stir-fried snow peas, carrots, red bell pepper, water chestnuts, and steamed brocolli balanced the creamy with crisp. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuplicachile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have never cooked Thai before, and this turned out simply gorgeous. I found my marinade thickend up well by leaving it in the fridge overnight before using it....then no problems. Only critiscm I have is that I found the sauce too sweet for me, but will omit sugar next time. Otherwise....great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was fantastic! The blend of flavors perfect! I server this on a bed of rice. My husband said it was the best sauce he ever tasted. I followed the recipe as written and would do so again. Thanks this is going to be a regular meal here. The only thing I might try is adding some grape tomatoes to the skewer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADTIRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Wonderfully tangy chicken. Great dish as a centerpiece or side to any meal. Wonderfully rich also. The peanut sauce could have been more flavorful, perhaps take that into account if making this. Perhaps use twice the spice or an extra half of the spices/peanut butter. I baked mine in the oven at 475 degrees, cooked up quick, lightly charred, and juicy... just like they would on a grill. Will be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvktr2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stonewall, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is absolutely worth every bit of effort! The only ingredient I couldn't find was muscovado sugar, so I substituted brown sugar. It was delicious, and all five of my picky kids gobbled it up! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I *hate* peanuts, but as I usually do in Thai cooking, I swapped cashew butter and chopped cashews. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I am giving this five stars because it is amazing, but if you make the sauce recipe as suggested, you will end up with a bland coconut soup. So I suggest using only chunky peanut butter instead of peanut butter/peanuts and using 1/2 cup as well as doubling the rest of the spices. My sister in law says it's better than restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States