Marty's Thai Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made this for a large group of people and everyone loved it! It was so yummy! I made a few changes to adapt to what i had, or could find at the local grocer, i could only find tamarind chutney, so i used that, i couldnt find muscavado sugar, so i used brown sugar, i used natural peanut butter, and added a bit of yellow curry powder to the sauce. It was too cold outside and my bbq was tempermental so i baked in a 375 oven until they looked done. SO MOIST. huge success and i would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
this was exceptionally good and very well received. the marinade never thickened and i worried about that a bit, but it still tasted great. the satay sauce tasted like something i'd get in a restaurant. i'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was unable to find tamarind paste, lemon grass, or muscovado sugar - so I substituted Worcestershire sauce, lemon zest, and brown sugar. Delicious despite the substitutions. Peanut sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe - I even found it very kid-friendly! As usual I tweaked it some, but the tastes and textures are all outstanding as written. I sauteed the chicken instead of grilling and served it over linguini noodles with toasted sesame oil, then ladled the sauce over all. A side order of stir-fried snow peas, carrots, red bell pepper, water chestnuts, and steamed brocolli balanced the creamy with crisp. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuplicachile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have never cooked Thai before, and this turned out simply gorgeous. I found my marinade thickend up well by leaving it in the fridge overnight before using it....then no problems. Only critiscm I have is that I found the sauce too sweet for me, but will omit sugar next time. Otherwise....great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was fantastic! The blend of flavors perfect! I server this on a bed of rice. My husband said it was the best sauce he ever tasted. I followed the recipe as written and would do so again. Thanks this is going to be a regular meal here. The only thing I might try is adding some grape tomatoes to the skewer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADTIRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Wonderfully tangy chicken. Great dish as a centerpiece or side to any meal. Wonderfully rich also. The peanut sauce could have been more flavorful, perhaps take that into account if making this. Perhaps use twice the spice or an extra half of the spices/peanut butter. I baked mine in the oven at 475 degrees, cooked up quick, lightly charred, and juicy... just like they would on a grill. Will be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvktr2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stonewall, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is absolutely worth every bit of effort! The only ingredient I couldn't find was muscovado sugar, so I substituted brown sugar. It was delicious, and all five of my picky kids gobbled it up! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Used brown sugar for Muscovado. Made the marinade exactly. Doubled the sauce ingredients and quadrupled the peanut butter and omitted the peanuts. Used 20 oz of lite cocount milk. Marinated chicken for 12 hours just because made it the night before. I have NEVER had such tender chicken...the chicken breast were organic. It was like a Filet Mignon that melts in your mouth. YUM! Hope you try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I *hate* peanuts, but as I usually do in Thai cooking, I swapped cashew butter and chopped cashews. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States