Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was fantastic soup!! As recommended by other users I substituted beef broth for the water and sauteed onions & garlic with the ground beef. Instead of mixed vegetables (not a fan) I added corn, green beans & potatoes. Also used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. My husband suggested green chili's next time . . . and there will DEFINITELY be a next time with this recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My husband was a little leary of the hamburger meat in the soup but ended up really loving it, I;ve made it many times since and have improvised every time. I use a base of frozen mixed vegies but add whatever I have in the frig. Great dinner with a loaf of french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
So Good! This cleaned my fridge out of leftovers! I added left over pot roast instead of ground beef, chopped carrots, celery, half a mayan onion and garlic. I also added 1 Tbl italian seasoning, speghetti sauce since I didn't have any tomato sauce. The diced tomatos came out of my freezer from this year's crop. I simmered for hour and the last 20 minutes I added frozen peas. Served with fruit salad (had to get some fruit on the table with a 2 year old!), garlic bread and a baked potato for my husband since he is not a big soup eater. Everyone in the family loved it, turned out more like stew than soup - but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My husband and brother loved this one. I substituted the stewed tomatoes with tomato juice. Turned out great. I took other suggestions and used garlic and onion also. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I added 2 beef bouillon cubes, some freshly ground black pepper, and a dash of garlic salt to give it just a little more flavor. I also substituted diced tomatoes for the stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunbeam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It was ok. Neither here nor there. Seemed like it'd be a good pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Great recipe. The only changes I made were to add more liquid (Beef broth) and more sugar to taste. Simple and easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Good basic soup. Quick, easy and tasty. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so instead I used two cans of tomato sauce. As others users suggested, I used beef broth and cooked the ground beef with onions and garlic for extra flavor. We loved it and I will definitely make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Made a few modifications and both my husband and my toddler loved this! I sauteed an onion and some garlic along with the beef, used spaghetti sauce (instead of plain tomato sauce), beef broth (instead of water), added 1 can of butter beans and several good dashes of Worcestershire. Really tasty served with hot cornbread. A very hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Used beef broth instead of water and added garlic. The flavor was good but didn't really like the ground beef in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States