Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Closest so far to my grandmas simple recipe! She used 1 lb gr beef cooked, 2 cans tomato soup, 1 can kidney beans drained, 2 cans alphabet soup, 2 cans mixed vegetables,chopped onion and water. Have thrown together those ingredients for years but didn't have all of them on hand so I tried this recipe and enjoyed it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I did not expect to like this, but I am sooo glad I tried it anyways. The onion soup mix and dash of sugar really make it special. I used a pound of stew meat instead of the ground beef and browned it with onion and garlic. I threw it in the crock pot with beef broth instead of water and added a couple of diced red potatoes. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Quick, easy, healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great Beginnings ~ I as able to use this recipe and add in almost anything I wanted. My family loved it and so easy to whip together for that night you don't know what to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I thought this was just so-so. I felt like it was missing something. It was kinda bland. I made it pretty much as written, except I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used diced. And I added a couple beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I do make quite a few changes to this soup. First, I use Beef Stock instead of water. I use ground turkey instead of beef, and I add one can of rinsed Kidney beans and one chopped up potato. I substituted diced tomatoes for stewed. I also add indivdually my own mix of frozen veggies. After browning the meat I put it all in a Crock Pot to cook all day on low. Definately put it on High for 4-5 hours if you can't cook it all day. The longer it cooks the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I use 1lb. ground beef and sometimes more sugar than called for originally. This is one of my favorite soups to cook because of taste and simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustLoveFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. The onion soup was overpowering to say the least. I even added the garlic, fresh onion and beef bouillon others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good base, had to add more seasonings to make it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I sauteed 1/4 cup red onion with the beef, substituted italian style stewed tomatoes, used beef broth instead of water. delicious, easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.changeofsceneweddings.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States