Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I loved this ! It was cheap and easy and delicious. I will make in the again and again. I diddnt use frozen veggies though, just carrots onions and potatoes. I also split the onion mix with the savory herb and garlic soup mix and it rocked.. cooked for an hour and a half. In future Ill saute celery with my onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveearth2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is the first thing I made on all recipes. My mom is in hospice and is losing her ability to swallow. So, her options on what she can eat are pretty limited. This was WONDERFUL! She absolutely loved it! Making this soup is what got me hooked to this website, so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My family loved it - the only thing I did differently was add peppers & green beans to the mix and beef broth because I had on hand. Very good - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Five star ease with a 3 star taste. Mostly 'cause the onion soup mix stayed too prominent. An excellent duo with Beef Noodle Shepherd's Pie -- they have similar ingredients, one with tomato, one with potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was my very first time making soup, but I am SO glad I chose this recipe! I took suggestions from other reviewers and used beef broth, I also added 1/4 cup of milk and a few tablespoons of cornstarch just to make it a little thicker, and it was the perfect consistency. I'll definitely be keeping this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Here's my version, which woke up a man from a deep sleep it smelled so good! 1.25 pounds ground 85% Angus beef, browned in 2 tbs olive oil and 4 cloves garlic, chopped -- 4 boxes of organic beef broth (32 oz. each) 3 boxes Green Giant 'Healthy Vision' frozen veggies (carrots, green beans, zucchini in a rosemary butter sauce) 1 box chopped frozen spinach 1 small bag of frozen pearl onions 1 small can white kidney beans (rinsed) 1 small can diced tomatoes w/ green chilies 1 envelope onion soup mix 1 teaspoon honey ground pepper, Kosher salt, dried parsley, Italian seasoning to taste 3 cups cooked penne, added after soup has simmered for an hour or so and add filtered water as need during simmering. Took me 15 minutes to put together. YUM! So easy and makes a nice big batch. Serve with warm garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Closest so far to my grandmas simple recipe! She used 1 lb gr beef cooked, 2 cans tomato soup, 1 can kidney beans drained, 2 cans alphabet soup, 2 cans mixed vegetables,chopped onion and water. Have thrown together those ingredients for years but didn't have all of them on hand so I tried this recipe and enjoyed it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I did not expect to like this, but I am sooo glad I tried it anyways. The onion soup mix and dash of sugar really make it special. I used a pound of stew meat instead of the ground beef and browned it with onion and garlic. I threw it in the crock pot with beef broth instead of water and added a couple of diced red potatoes. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Quick, easy, healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great Beginnings ~ I as able to use this recipe and add in almost anything I wanted. My family loved it and so easy to whip together for that night you don't know what to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States