Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Used 1 lb ground venison instead of beef and 1/2 beef broth 1/2 water. Very good. Will cut sugar in half next time. I cut up the stewed tomatoes before adding them. Made this for make-ahead freezer meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
As some other reviewers suggested I used a pound of ground beef and sauteed with garlic and onion. Used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes and just broke them up with my hands as I was adding them. I used half low sodium beef broth and water for the liquid, and added 1 tsp Italian Seasoning, 1 tsp Crushed Red Pepper flakes, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, & 1 Bay Leaf. I let it simmer for about an hour instead of the 20 mins, but it came out really, really good! A great soup and what a dollar stretcher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
DELISH! I had left-over beef from last night's roast, so I chopped that in place of ground beef. I also added Italian seasonings to taste. I liked the addition of the sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. This recipe will be kept to use again and again. Thank you dkennedy for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
pretty good. Not sure if sugar is needed, but I wouldn't use more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I did the recipe except subbed fresh mushrooms and canned corn for frozen veggies because that is all I had. I also used beefy onion soup mix instead of regular for the same reason. I wasn't in the mood for cooking or ground beef and this changed my attitude. Really good and ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Really good. I gave it five stars, though I made it with some modifications. I also added beef broth instead of water, like so many others, and added a bit of rotini noodles in. I did end up with a package of meat that was close to a pound and a half, that I cooked with some sauteed onions and garlic. I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of stewed, and a small can of paste, then added only the two cups of broth. I guess mine came out a lot thicker than intended--I think I added more veggies than recommended too, but didn't measure. Put some ciabatta bread on the side, and it was a hit. My picky kids liked it too. (Someone else said that in their review, but I was skeptical.) I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this soup today, very easy, quick and delicious. I added a few things after reading other reviews. I used ground turkey, added some chopped onion, green pepper and garlic when browning. Also used beef broth instead of water, and added a bay leaf and one dried chili pepper while simmering. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Haiku: "So easy to make! Nice comforting bowl of soup. Simmer for longer." I pretty much stuck to Martha's recipe, only taking a hint here or there from some reviews, such as swapping water for beef broth, and adding garlic and onion to the beef as it browned. Oh, and I unintentionally used mexican-seasoned stewed tomatoes, and was happy w/ that. (I think I'd have preferred diced tomatoes instead though, since the stewed, while tasty, are just such a mouthful!) The soup is MUCH better w/ a longer simmer. I had a taste at the directed 20 min. and liked it fine, but let it sit even longer, and it was tastier. W/ a sprinkle of parm on top, we slurped up our bowls declaring it a keeper, a great soup for doubling and freezing batches for the cold nights to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The first time I made this soup, I used leftover browned ground beef. To make up for no drippings, I sauteed onions in bacon grease, then added the vegetables and cooked until thawed and sizzling. Finally, I added the rest of the ingredients and followed the recipe. Except, I didn't have tomato juice, so I added 3-4 tablespoons of tomato paste. The second time, I followed the recipe exactly as written. My husband & I both agreed that the vegetables were more tender the first time. Next time, I'll add cooking the veggies a little as a preliminary step. Also, the tomato paste added a richer flavor. Not a more tomatoey flavor, but more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was OK. The best thing about it was it was easy. I would make this again if I was in a hurry to throw something together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States