Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
The beauty of this versatile recipe is that you can alter it to your taste. I did as other reviewers, and used beef broth in place of water (2 cans broth, 4C water)and added onion and garlic to the beef. I used a full pound of ground sirloin, added small elbow macaroni, cabbage, and white pepper. For a real flavor booster, I also used about half a jar of Prego traditional pasta sauce in lieu of the tomato sauce, and petite diced tomatoes in place of the stewed tomatoes. Served with cornbread, this is my new favorite Winter meal! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was a pretty decent recipe. Like many of the recipes on allrecipes.com, usually it's a great place for me to start. This recipe was just that. I made some changes to suit my own tastes. I omitted the tomato sauce and added 3 cloves of crushed garlic and more variety of vegetables such as diced rutabegas. A good soup. Will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was very good. Although I did make some changes. I also used Beef broth in place of the water (as suggested by others). Instead of frozen vegetables I used a can of corn (drained) an can of lima beans (drained) and I cut a potato into small cubes. I cooked it longer than 20 minutes to allow the potatoes to cook all the way through. I will make this again, and next time I will add an extra 2 tablespoons of onion soup mix for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Quick, easy, cheap and delicious! I used 1 lb. ground beef, 3 cloves garlic, substituted spaghetti sauce for the tomato sauce, and added orzo - yummy! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe. After reading other reviews, I made a few changes. Instead of 2 cups of water I used 2 cups of beef broth. I also added 1/2 cup frozen corn, 2 stalks of celery (chopped), 1 tsp Worcestire sauce, and I sauteed 1/2 onion and 2 cloves of garlic while browning the ground beef. Thanks for the great recipe- I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Great Recipe! I actually swapped the ground beef for 2 chicken breasts, threw in a tsp of chicken boullion and added a cubed potato...it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I loved this recipe however I too did a little bit of changing. To make it just a tad more healthy I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also substituted beef broth in place of the water and instead of 2 cups i put 4 cups of beef broth and 1 lb of ground turkey. Also browned the turkey with 1/2 a chopped onion as well. It was delicious. I'm eating it for lunch now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I made this soup for dinner tonight and it was delicious! My husband had two helpings. I followed other reviews and added beef broth, diced tomatoes, garlic, potatoes, carrots, celery, stew meat, and two cups frozen mixed vegetables. Instead of onion soup mix, i added an envelope of vegetable soup mix. Served with a salad, and rye bread it made a perfect meal for a cold night like tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
THIS WAS THE BEST!!!! I added garlic to the hamburger and used beef broth. I doubled the recipe. Good thing I did so there'll be leftovers. yum. I never made soup before and this tasted way better then canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I wasn't too sure if my hubby would like this because he's picky about veggies, but the rave reviews convinced me to give it a try. I'm glad I did because he ended up going back for a second serving! This is the best vegetable soup I've tasted! As another reviewer suggested, I browned the meat with an onion and 3 pressed garlic cloves. I took out the tomatoes (hubby doesn't like), and added a zucchini to compensate to the lack of tomato. It's a real versatile recipe because you can use whatever veggies suit your taste. It was super quick and easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States