Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This soup is FANTASTIC! It is SO easy and is now a quick "go to" meal for a cold weeknight in Chicago. I double the recipe so there is plenty to take in my little crock pot to work the next day for lunch. YUM! Thanks Martha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Green Jozwiak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe is good. It's even better when you add your own personal touch. Like others, I used diced tomatoes & beef broth, then added Worcester sauce, garlic, & a small onion. I used flank steak instead of ground beef (I was cleaning out my freezer). I served corn bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Let me start off by saying my six year-old actually told me she loved this and she's not a soup lover. Then my husband ate two huge bowls and raved about it. I omited the sugar and it stil l worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious I don't usually comment or leave feed back. This was so good I had to my husband had 3 bowls and my picky 8 year old ate a whole big bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I doubled the recipe, but not the soup mix, and even still, it was definitely the predominate flavor. I added a can of corn, broth instead of water, some canned green beans, a handful of noodles, and some diced carrots, and a dash of worcestershire sauce. I also used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Next time, I'll not put in the soup mix and see how it goes and just play around with the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
One of the best soups I've ever had in my life. AFTER subbing beef broth for the water and adding some potatoes . Yummy yummy yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
First I followed the recipe then taste tested it. Found it good but a little flat and not much beef flavor. Easy fixes. First I added a bouillon cube, then added a splash of worstershire and soy sauces. It gave it the body that I needed. I found this soup to be a tasty and easy not to mention inexpensive. Thanks for a great starter recipe. Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I use sodium reduction V8 juice and add a little Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have debated whether to rate this 3 or 4 stars, and finally settled on 3 because as written it is rather bland. I added chopped onion and garlic to the beef as it browned, I used beef broth in place of the water, and I added crushed red pepper flakes. This helped, and it was a hearty and decent soup, but I feel it needs even more than these changes to make it great. Some red wine, maybe a potato or some pasta, and some additional spices would amp it up. I do think it is a great base recipe and it is easily adaptable- it just needs the addition of some pantry staples to make it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is one of our favorite family recipes. I do 1lb ground beef, 2 cans organic tomato sauce, 2 cans organic diced tomatoes, big bag of frozen veggies & a packet of soup mix. I've found that Italian dressing mix is a great substitute as well! This recipe serves my family of 5 and has leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States