Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This recipe was really easy and really tasty too. However, instead of using water, I substitued beef broth and added potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe! My husband was angry with me so after I made it and ate some I went to bed. When he got home and tasted it, he woke me up to tell me how wonderful dinner was and totally forgot that he was mad at me. He told me it was the best tasting dish that I had ever made. I also used 1lb of ground beef, browned it with 3 cloves of garlic and a small chopped onion. I exchanged the water for beef broth. I chopped up a green pepper and 1/3 lg box of mushroom too (to clean out the fridge)and added that to the frozen veggies (which were also chopped into smaller bites). I added 1/3 can of kidney beans and two hand fulls of ditalini. The 1/2c of red wine really topped off the stock. It was super easy to prepare and I will certainly be making it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This soup is awesome! I made a few changes. I used stew meat instead of ground beef, diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Stewed are too big and also added 1 large potato cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Gilliland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mocksville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I NEVER make this sort of thing. The closest is chili. My family was very scared when they saw it and asked for very small helpings. Everyone wanted seconds and one of my daughters said "how come this is so good?" I followed what others had suggested. Beef broth instead of water, 1# beef instead of 1/2 and I browned the hamburger with a med onion and several cloves of garlic. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I was a little apprehensive that this soup would not have much flavor, but was pressed for time, so decided to try it. I browned the ground beef with onions and fresh garlic. Instead of water, I used beef broth and also added a 1/4 cup of white wine. I added frozen mixed vegetables with pasta shells. I also didn't have any tomato sauce, but had pizza sauce, so used that instead. This soup turned out very delicious! Even my finicky 7-year-old and 3-year-old loved it. Thank you for a quick, but delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is amazingly good! I took the suggestion and used a pound of ground beef. I also used two cans of low sodium beef broth instead of water...big difference! I threw in a handful of ditalini pasta just to make it extra hearty. Yummy!!!! The onion soup mix is a GREAT addition! Thank you SO much for sharing this fabulous recipe! We will be making this a lot this winter!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great soup! We add garlic and onion while browning beef. Then use beef broth instead of water. We add 2 potoatoes and 2 small carrots cubed. Frozen peas and corn. Very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Delicious and easy! I doubled the meat and used beef broth instead of water as the other reviewers suggested and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
An easy and delicious way to use leftover hamburger meat. I browned my ground beef with minced garlic and onions and also added a touch of red wine to the recipe. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This soup was good and very easy and quick. I used leftover beef from roast and other leftover vegetables. I also added a little more sugar and a little granulated beef boullion. Very good taste with little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States