Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I liked this! I followed other reviewers' advice and used broth instead of water. I did use stewed tomatoes, I just stuck a kitchen shears in the can and cut them up a bit. I also used fresh veggies in stead of frozen (carrots, green beans, corn cut from the cob, zucchini, bell pepper, diced potato, and fresh tomato). I also sauteed the meat with onion and garlic as others suggested. I guess that seems like a lot of modifications, but really the base was great and it's versatile enough that you can just throw in whatever veggies you have on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was very good soup, great on a cold rainy day. I too used beef broth instead of water and I left out the tomato sauce. Will make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Good base for a quick soup. Needs some doctoring though, or else it will taste fairly generic. Beef base, red wine, fresh celery, garlic, parsley, white beans, italian seasoning and worcestershire were some of my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was awesome and super easy. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Yummy and so easy! Even my pickiest eater ate at least the broth! Thanks for a great, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
i am normally a very generous person when it comes to rating but this recipe has to be altered quite a bit to get a truly good soup. the addition of the beef broth is the most important. i also added worcestershire sauce. which i cannot believe was not included in the first place. i only had frozen corn so i used canned italian green beans and sweet peas. with the few changes that we have all made it turns out great! thanks for the base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great Simple Recipe!! We will make this again and again and again!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Delicious soup my family loves, including kids 7 & 10. I was reluctant to use a recipe with frozen mixed vegetables but it makes the recipe so easy and the flavor is great. As most have, I added more beef broth. This recipe is also easy to alter for various flavored broths. Once I added some red wine, other times I sauteed garlic with the ground beef, and added black eyed peas. All soups were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was really good soup, however I don't really care for the taste of adding soup mix to stuff, so I used some finely chopped onions and beef broth. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Only thing keeping me from giving this 4 stars is my mom's vegetable-beef soup (slow-cooked with stew meat, barley and just about every vegetable you care to name). Having said that, thought it was very good for a quick-cook soup option. Will definitely make this one again and play around with it a bit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States