Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Wow. This soup is FAN TASTIC. All I had was a full lb of ground turkey and an old 16 oz bag of frozen veggies. Used it all and followed the rest of the directions (used chicken broth instead of water). Kids loved it. Grown ups loved it too. Super Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
What a wonderful recipe! When I make vegetable soup it usually seems a little bland, but this was not the case tonight. Very flavorful. I doubled the recipe, added a can of kidney beans, and cooked the beef with a whole yellow onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I also subbed beef broth for the water. So easy to make, was inexpensive, and healthy. Will surely make this often all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this soup with some left over roast I had. It was very good. My mother came over for dinner and she even went back for seconds. It was perfect for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saramarie72

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Highly recommend. Very good but a bit sweet for my liking. I'm not sure if the sweetness came from the tsp. of sugar, from the canned tomatoes used, or combo. I, too, increased the ground beef to 1 lb. Everything else was as the recipe stated. Will definitely make again. Next time I'll try leaving out the tsp. of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
GREAT!! I used 1 lb ground turkey and beef broth instead of water. I added stevia instead of sugar as my husband is diabetic. I also added more water as I like it soupy. So simple, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I liked this! I followed other reviewers' advice and used broth instead of water. I did use stewed tomatoes, I just stuck a kitchen shears in the can and cut them up a bit. I also used fresh veggies in stead of frozen (carrots, green beans, corn cut from the cob, zucchini, bell pepper, diced potato, and fresh tomato). I also sauteed the meat with onion and garlic as others suggested. I guess that seems like a lot of modifications, but really the base was great and it's versatile enough that you can just throw in whatever veggies you have on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was very good soup, great on a cold rainy day. I too used beef broth instead of water and I left out the tomato sauce. Will make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Good base for a quick soup. Needs some doctoring though, or else it will taste fairly generic. Beef base, red wine, fresh celery, garlic, parsley, white beans, italian seasoning and worcestershire were some of my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was awesome and super easy. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Yummy and so easy! Even my pickiest eater ate at least the broth! Thanks for a great, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States