Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was very good. I used ground venison instead of beef. Everyone was going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is wonderful. I added a dash of worcestershire sauce, a dash of white wine and a bay leaf. I used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of the stewed tomatoes. I did not add the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was good. We added extra of the frozen vegetables, but ended up having to put in a lot more water to make it 'soup'ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars although I switched it up quite a bit. It is SUPER EASY and the greatest base for a delicious soup. I used 2 and a half 32oz cartons of beef broth (not water), two packages of onion/beef soup mix, a package of baby carrots, canned green beans (what I had on hand), 3 yellow potatoes diced, 2 vegetable bouillon cubes and 1 pound of ground beef that I seasoned with seasoned salt, red pepper flake, cumin and worcestershire. Browned the beef, tossed it all into a pot then brought to a boil and turned heat to low then simmered for about 35 minutes. The soup was AWESOME. It was filling and satisfying with lots of great beef flavor. This also made a big pot (enough for a few days of leftovers). Probably the best beef soup ever (though I wonder what pot roast would add?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
DELICIOUS and SSSOOOOO easy! I added one potato (plenty for six servings), substituted beef broth for water, and sauteed garlic and onion with the meat. Because I used onion, I omitted the onion soup mix. SSSOOO good. Low on weight watcher points also. Will DEFINATELY be making this again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Desarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was super easy. I used this as a base, and substituted water for beef broth. Added some pasta, and red potatoes. I also used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Also added kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
very easy to make and i added one beef cube it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbury, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Used 1 lb ground venison instead of beef and 1/2 beef broth 1/2 water. Very good. Will cut sugar in half next time. I cut up the stewed tomatoes before adding them. Made this for make-ahead freezer meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
As some other reviewers suggested I used a pound of ground beef and sauteed with garlic and onion. Used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes and just broke them up with my hands as I was adding them. I used half low sodium beef broth and water for the liquid, and added 1 tsp Italian Seasoning, 1 tsp Crushed Red Pepper flakes, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, & 1 Bay Leaf. I let it simmer for about an hour instead of the 20 mins, but it came out really, really good! A great soup and what a dollar stretcher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Brogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
DELISH! I had left-over beef from last night's roast, so I chopped that in place of ground beef. I also added Italian seasonings to taste. I liked the addition of the sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. This recipe will be kept to use again and again. Thank you dkennedy for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States