Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My husband and brother loved this one. I substituted the stewed tomatoes with tomato juice. Turned out great. I took other suggestions and used garlic and onion also. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I added 2 beef bouillon cubes, some freshly ground black pepper, and a dash of garlic salt to give it just a little more flavor. I also substituted diced tomatoes for the stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunbeam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It was ok. Neither here nor there. Seemed like it'd be a good pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Great recipe. The only changes I made were to add more liquid (Beef broth) and more sugar to taste. Simple and easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Good basic soup. Quick, easy and tasty. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so instead I used two cans of tomato sauce. As others users suggested, I used beef broth and cooked the ground beef with onions and garlic for extra flavor. We loved it and I will definitely make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Made a few modifications and both my husband and my toddler loved this! I sauteed an onion and some garlic along with the beef, used spaghetti sauce (instead of plain tomato sauce), beef broth (instead of water), added 1 can of butter beans and several good dashes of Worcestershire. Really tasty served with hot cornbread. A very hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Used beef broth instead of water and added garlic. The flavor was good but didn't really like the ground beef in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was great! I added more veggies, like zucchini, & cooked it all in a crockpot. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was an easy soup to make, but I was excepting more from a five star recipe. A little bland even after more spice and herb additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
The beauty of this versatile recipe is that you can alter it to your taste. I did as other reviewers, and used beef broth in place of water (2 cans broth, 4C water)and added onion and garlic to the beef. I used a full pound of ground sirloin, added small elbow macaroni, cabbage, and white pepper. For a real flavor booster, I also used about half a jar of Prego traditional pasta sauce in lieu of the tomato sauce, and petite diced tomatoes in place of the stewed tomatoes. Served with cornbread, this is my new favorite Winter meal! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States