Martha's Spanish Rice and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made this dish several times. I've made it exactly to the recipe and every other time, I included black beans. Every time, my family loved it, even my picky 2.5 year old. It's not your typical authentic Dominican or Puerto Rican style rice ( I say that because I think some people think that's how it is), but it's still an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I am giving this 3 stars because my husband liked it. I thought it had WAY too much rice compared to the meat ratio. I added half a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes and kept the tomato sauce to half. It had good flavor, and I made my own adobe seasoning from this web site which I plan to use on other recipes in the future as it is a good, somewhat, spicey flavor. The rice cooked up fine, but was sort of a dry dish. I will not make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Recipe is delicious as it is. It's perfect if you're limited on ingredients. I will absolutely be making this again soon, but adding more that I might have on hand, such as rotel, or corn, or just diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. This is a great recipe and I can imagine so many different ways to take it up a notch if you're in the mood. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Added on e can rotfl spicy. Try half can next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I loved this. It was simple to make and made plenty for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good weeknight meal. I added southwestern diced tomatoes, celery , a a little tomato sauce and kidney beans. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Only 3 stars because it took over an hour to cook the rice. I kept adding liquid cause it kept drying up. But tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
perfect recipe to work onto.. I used pork chops cut from the bone, but left some meat on the bone for flavor, used packet spanish rice, added green pepper, tomato (at end) and black beans, also basil, parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Started the sausage cooking in the pan first and there was no need for any additional oil for the veggies. Added one diced stalk of celery with the veggies and about a cup of frozen corn. Also added a 10oz can of tomatos with spicy peppers in place of the tomato sauce and it was quite spicy. Took the rice a little longer to cook than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I added green and red peppers and a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. It really added to the flavor and kicked it up a notch. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States