Martha's Spanish Rice and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Martha thank you for this recipe, I have made this smiliar rice and sausage. I am of Spanish heritage and there is nothing like this dish, I call it my comfort food.the only differrence I make is to add a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it that kick.and I too serve it with pinto beans, refried or charro, what a humble meal..again thank you for posting it, and taking me back home.By the way I do about half of the tomato sauce, and then use diced tomatoes it makes it sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good, even my husband and son liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nefritara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I had some leftover green and red bell pepper which I added. I also used the entire 8 oz can of tomato sauce. This was a delicious meal and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Delicious, fantastic, I could have eaten the whole thing myself!! Hubby loved it too and he's fussy. I didn't have the adobo spice so I looked up on allrecipes.com and got a recipe for it! Just made my own, very easy, and again, it turned out GREAT! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Martha's Spanish Rice & Sausage Haiku: "So good, so simple! (Added tomatoes and beans; really loved this meal!) I'm always skittish about smooshy rice or crunchy rice preparing it as directed in this recipe, so I mixed some already cooked rice in, and my only other minor change was adding a chopped tomato from my garden, and some black beans, since the recipe submitter mentioned serving w/ beans. Truly terrific results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I'm Spanish and the rice is quite different but your twist on the dish is really good. It seems inspired by Spanish food but not exactly there but my Spanish grandmother LOVES this dish! good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very simple, and tasty.. Great one Martha... Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Recipe is delicious as it is. It's perfect if you're limited on ingredients. I will absolutely be making this again soon, but adding more that I might have on hand, such as rotel, or corn, or just diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. This is a great recipe and I can imagine so many different ways to take it up a notch if you're in the mood. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I've made this dish twice so far, both times with my own changes to suit what I had on hand, but I have no doubt that this dish made just as stated, would be delicious. This is a great, quick weeknight meal, helps to use up items in the pantry, and can be made all in one pot ... these are all pluses in our house! :) The changes I've made are as follows: Both times I've used a jarred mixture of tomatoes, onions, & bell peppers that I had canned, I've used taco seasoning packets to replace the adobo, a can of black beans (rinsed and drained), a tsp of sugar to help enhance the flavors, a few squirts of lemon or lime juice, and a few sprinkles of cilantro (we're big cilantro fans). Other than that, I cook it exactly as stated and just let it simmer on the stove until the rice is tender, making sure to add water if needed. Once the rice is just about done, I turn off the stove and sprinkle a blend of shredded cheese over the top and just let it melt as the rice mixture thickens up and cools. This is a nice, hearty meal and a good way to use up some leftover sausage and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great recipe. I used brown rice instead of white and of course it cooked a bit longer. The taste was still fabulous! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States