Martha's Spanish Rice and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Martha thank you for this recipe, I have made this smiliar rice and sausage. I am of Spanish heritage and there is nothing like this dish, I call it my comfort food.the only differrence I make is to add a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it that kick.and I too serve it with pinto beans, refried or charro, what a humble meal..again thank you for posting it, and taking me back home.By the way I do about half of the tomato sauce, and then use diced tomatoes it makes it sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very simple, and tasty.. Great one Martha... Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I'm Spanish and the rice is quite different but your twist on the dish is really good. It seems inspired by Spanish food but not exactly there but my Spanish grandmother LOVES this dish! good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I had some leftover green and red bell pepper which I added. I also used the entire 8 oz can of tomato sauce. This was a delicious meal and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good, even my husband and son liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nefritara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
very good! i substituted quinoa and black beans for sausage. the flavor was good but i think next time i'll use El Pato sauce to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The sausage makes the difference. use sausage that doesn't cook dry. whole tomatoes, cheese and a tblsp sugar wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I just made this and my husband and I will be adding it to our list of quick week night meals. I added black beans and frozen corn just for something extra. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great recipe. I used brown rice instead of white and of course it cooked a bit longer. The taste was still fabulous! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Martha's Spanish Rice & Sausage Haiku: "So good, so simple! (Added tomatoes and beans; really loved this meal!) I'm always skittish about smooshy rice or crunchy rice preparing it as directed in this recipe, so I mixed some already cooked rice in, and my only other minor change was adding a chopped tomato from my garden, and some black beans, since the recipe submitter mentioned serving w/ beans. Truly terrific results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States