Martha's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I thought this was really good. It is the same basic recipe I've always used except for the cream of chicken soup. It definately makes a difference for the better in terms of taste and texture. I did not include chicken in mine so I used one can of chicken broth in place of the stock and I sauted the onion and celery in a bit of butter before addint to the mixture. I will definately be using this recipe for dressing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This dressing recieved rave reviews from my in-laws. All of them are fantastic Southern cooks and know how to throw a dressing together WITHOUT following a recipe. My first try at this (Christmas dinner) was a big success! I substituted more cornbread (in total 3 boxes of Jiffy cornbread mix) instead of using biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Thanks for a great recipe! This was so easy that even I got it right! Folks who normally won't eat dressing went back for seconds and there no leftovers. A tip for those like me who need "paint by number" instructions... where the recipe says "soak" and doesn't say how much, I used 2.5 Cups. And, one recipe (one pie tin) of cornbread was about 5 cups. Also, there are so many different types of "biscuits" from buttered to buttermilk... I used a store brand (HEB) frozen pack labeled "Biscuits Southern Style" rather than the pack labeled buttery or buttermilk. Not sure how much difference that made. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This will be my third year making this wonderful receipe. I will definately make this a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I made this last Thanksgiving and I just looked it up to print the recipe to use again this year. It's delicious and a real southern style dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRICIA BROWN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this last Thanksgiving, and I must say, this is the best cornbread dressing I have ever had! The whole family agreed. There were no leftovers! I used a good homemade cornbread recipe, and frozen ready-to-bake biscuits. I think it's the chicken and the cream soup that take this recipe to the next level. It's almost a meal in itself. I'll definitely be making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Thank you so much for publishing this recipe! I prepared my 1st Thanksgiving meal this year and everyone LOVED this dressing! I had asked everyone, "How do you make cornbread dressing?" Everyone's reply was, "I just get the stuff and throw it all together." WHAT STUFF?..lol It was pointed out to me, that making dressing isn't really a secret, it's just that only Mom's and Grandma's are up at that hour assembling the goodies! Now, I HAVE THE "STUFF"...and I can still sleep in...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
substituted 4 cups cornbread for 4 biscuits for a corn bread version.......EXELLENT BOTH WAYS!!!! KUDOS!!! THIS IS WHAT SOUTHERN HOLIDAYS ARE ALL ABOUT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving this year 2003 and it was the best I've ever had I do beleive and I come from a long line of southern cooking! I dont even think grand ma's can beat this one. In fact I'm going home for the new year and going to make this just for my grandparents becaouse I loved it so much. Happy New Year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mathiston, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. I made this last Thanksgiving, and it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States