Martha's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
substituted 4 cups cornbread for 4 biscuits for a corn bread version.......EXELLENT BOTH WAYS!!!! KUDOS!!! THIS IS WHAT SOUTHERN HOLIDAYS ARE ALL ABOUT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Thank you so much for publishing this recipe! I prepared my 1st Thanksgiving meal this year and everyone LOVED this dressing! I had asked everyone, "How do you make cornbread dressing?" Everyone's reply was, "I just get the stuff and throw it all together." WHAT STUFF?..lol It was pointed out to me, that making dressing isn't really a secret, it's just that only Mom's and Grandma's are up at that hour assembling the goodies! Now, I HAVE THE "STUFF"...and I can still sleep in...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I thought this was really good. It is the same basic recipe I've always used except for the cream of chicken soup. It definately makes a difference for the better in terms of taste and texture. I did not include chicken in mine so I used one can of chicken broth in place of the stock and I sauted the onion and celery in a bit of butter before addint to the mixture. I will definately be using this recipe for dressing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
WONDERFUL !!!! It was my first time making cornbread dressing and everyone said it turned out great!!! Moist and tasty !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
this recipe is so close to my mothers original southern recipe that i used this recipe to complement my mothers. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This will be my third year making this wonderful receipe. I will definately make this a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving this year 2003 and it was the best I've ever had I do beleive and I come from a long line of southern cooking! I dont even think grand ma's can beat this one. In fact I'm going home for the new year and going to make this just for my grandparents becaouse I loved it so much. Happy New Year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mathiston, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this last Thanksgiving, and I must say, this is the best cornbread dressing I have ever had! The whole family agreed. There were no leftovers! I used a good homemade cornbread recipe, and frozen ready-to-bake biscuits. I think it's the chicken and the cream soup that take this recipe to the next level. It's almost a meal in itself. I'll definitely be making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This dressing recieved rave reviews from my in-laws. All of them are fantastic Southern cooks and know how to throw a dressing together WITHOUT following a recipe. My first try at this (Christmas dinner) was a big success! I substituted more cornbread (in total 3 boxes of Jiffy cornbread mix) instead of using biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I used this recipe as a guide, like the other reviewer I didn't know what the "stuff" was! The soup is a wonderful addition, so moist!! My husband tells everyone...It's just like Grandmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States