Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I tried this to include in some holiday goodie baskets. I've never made candy before, so maybe that was part of the problem. It just didn't seem that these ever got quite firm enough, no matter how long I chilled them. Then I had the worst time trying to dip them in the melted chocolate. I assumed you are suppose to cover the whole thing when dipping. I couldn't because the toothpick would not hold them and the chocolate would just stick all over them and weigh them down and then they would get mushy and come apart. I ended up just dipping one end of them in the chocolate. Good flavor but I must be missing a technique on how to deep in warm chocolate because it was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I have made this heavenly candy for YEARS and they turn out perfect everytime. My recipe calls for two boxes of confectioners sugar (instead of four cups)so maybe that is why mine never comes out "soupy", "thin", etc. Try it, you'll love it. Note: I also use 1/4 pound of parafin melted in the chocolate which makes the coating perfect with a slight shine very pretty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
the kids really don't get fast enough results but the time and effort are well worth the wait for the chilling required. delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
this recipe tasted good, but I do not know how you ever get it to form into balls, I chilled it for 36 hrs, and it was still like gooey, instead of rolling into balls, I spread the mix into a jelly roll pan and then spread the chocolate on top and cut into squares and wrapped in wax paper. I won't make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I live above 5000 feet and found that this recipe DID NOT do well at all. The mixture never chilled to "firm" even after 2 days. It was a very soupy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
very , very good candy!!! wrap it in tiny colored pieces of plastic wrap......looks & tastes gourmet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I was first introduced to this recipe 17 years ago. In all the military moves I lost the recipe, so you can bet I was thrilled to find it here and make it once again! It's wonderful stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Oh my gosh this is delicious! I had a hard time waiting for them to get hard to roll into balls...I ate it out of the bowl with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
This candy is really good. A little time consuming on the dipping of candy into chocolate and the toothpick didnt work for me to well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
These are really excellant ; easy to mske and delicious . We used an extra cup of corsely chopped pecans and dipped the candys 1/2 in the melted chocolate . The set up time is the only lengthy part of making these , so we worked on other candies in between chilling times . thanks for adding a new candy to our Holiday candy making tradition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States