Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This recipe has been a family tradition for as long as I can remember. We use the same ingredients, although we use half the amount of butter and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was so good and easy! They were a little soft - next time I'll increase the powdered sugar a bit. I did make one change - I used rum extract instead of the vanilla, and it was excellent. I took them to a office party and they were the first thing gone. I will definitly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This recipe is very easy to make but I would cut down the margarine to 1/2 cup. I have added cinnamon to the mix and it has been great. I am thinking of varying the recipe in several ways. First, I will change the butter to cream cheese the next time to make the mix firmer and reduce condensed milk to half. I will also consider different types of nuts and dried fruit, flavorings, some orange peel and spices. Another idea that comes to mind is omit the coconut and to add two or three melted unsweetened chocolate squares (cooled down) to the mix and then use white chocolate chips for the coating instead. Then maybe, I would drizzle them with melted caramel once it is set. The second idea would be to make it chocolate and dip on some melted mint coating. I tried the melted chocolate chips for dipping the candy and I needed to add a little bit of oil to make it thinner (1 Tab oil for 3/4 cup chips). I choose chips that have sugar and chocolate liquor as the main ingredients. Surprisingly enough, there are generic brands that have these ingredients and are better than the name brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe takes me back to my childhood! And at well lets just say 50+ that is some good old memories. I was very happy to find this and it is just as good as what my mom use to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajmatt
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Doubling the confectioners sugar will make the candy easier to handle, but DON'T DO IT! You want that creamy, melt-in-your-mouth experience. Instead, work with the candy. Freeze before handling, drop in teaspoons on waxed paper and freeze AGAIN, roll drops between hands and freeze AGAIN. Then dip. I do add one block of parafin to the semi-sweet chocolate chips for that glossy finish. Use one toothpick for dipping, another for removing the candy, and put a little piece of pecan over the hole (a hint for what's inside). I also toast my pecans before adding to recipe. I'm not very old, but all my aunts that make candy say mine are the best they've ever had, and beautiful, too! It's worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These were a hit with family and coworkers. I toke the advice given and used 2lbs of confectioners sugar, but I used 1 1/2 sticks of butter, this was just right. I also added parafin to the choc. and drizzled finished product with almond bark. They were beautiful and taste even better than they looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These were actually very good. I did not give the recipe 5 stars because I made some alterations as other reviewers suggested. I only used 1 stick of BUTTER, and 1 box (or 1 lb.) of sugar. They came out the perfect consistency. Once I balled them out, I placed them in the freezer for about an hour before dipping them in chocolate. Not too pretty, but very tasty! I might try the melon baller thing the next time. Thanks for the recipe, Willi. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I also make this w/ a stick of real butter - not margarine and 2 boxes of confectioner's sugar. No problems with not being firm enough. I use dipping chocolate rather than melted chocolate chips. I also make these up in advance and freeze (before dipping). I freeze on a cookie sheet that I've lined w/ waxed paper. When they are frozen, I transfer to a zipper freezer bag. I dip as needed all holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These are delicious. My mom and I made these one year when I was a kid and I remember loving them. So, when I saw this recipe, I was excited to try it. I always read reviews before I make anything, and so I saw to decrease the butter (and I did use butter instead of margarine) and up the powdered sugar and they were excellent. I gave these out in a candy assortment for Christmas gifts and they were a huge hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Like many others, this recipie is in fact quite tasty, but it would NOT SET!!! It was very frustrating as I kept upping the amount of Confectioner's Sugar, but to no avail! It was also really sweet, but I should have known that coming in with the Condensed Milk. The only thing that stops me from rating it too poorly is the pecans, which gave it a good kick. Buy yourself like two boxes of confectioners and REAL butter if you are going to make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States