Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've been making this candy with my Mom since I was a little girl. It's a wonderful recipe. We do it a little different. We make the dough leaving out the nuts and coconut and divide the dough evenly 3 ways. We mix one with pecans and coconut, one with Maraschino Cherries (if you like chocolate covered cherries you'll love this) and the 3rd with peanut butter. The one with nuts you follow the recipe listed exactly, the one with cherries you will need to drain the cherries and chop them into tiny pieces (it's also helpful to pat them dry with a towel) then mix in with dough.The cherry mixture will be softer and more sticky so it requires powdered sugar until you can roll it into bite size balls without the dough sticking to your hand then follow the recipe as listed. The peanut butter ones I add about 1 cup of peanut butter (sometimes more I,really like peanut butter) and mix until well blended with the dough. If the peanut butter dough gets too dry you can add a little (very little) milk and that will help bring the creaminess back. Happy Candy Making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is by far my favorite candy recipe at Christmas! Very rich but delicious! Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I had these growing up and was really wanting them this Christmas Season. This recipe is exactly how I had remembered them. I made the mixture and let them set a few hours in the refrigerator. Rolled them up and refroze them. Very easy to dip with toothpicks and then come back and patch the hole with chocolate. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. No changes needed at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
When dipping this candy, remove the middle tines of a plastic fork and use it to dip. Eliminates the famous "hole" in the top. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This recipe has been a family tradition for as long as I can remember. We use the same ingredients, although we use half the amount of butter and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was so good and easy! They were a little soft - next time I'll increase the powdered sugar a bit. I did make one change - I used rum extract instead of the vanilla, and it was excellent. I took them to a office party and they were the first thing gone. I will definitly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This recipe is very easy to make but I would cut down the margarine to 1/2 cup. I have added cinnamon to the mix and it has been great. I am thinking of varying the recipe in several ways. First, I will change the butter to cream cheese the next time to make the mix firmer and reduce condensed milk to half. I will also consider different types of nuts and dried fruit, flavorings, some orange peel and spices. Another idea that comes to mind is omit the coconut and to add two or three melted unsweetened chocolate squares (cooled down) to the mix and then use white chocolate chips for the coating instead. Then maybe, I would drizzle them with melted caramel once it is set. The second idea would be to make it chocolate and dip on some melted mint coating. I tried the melted chocolate chips for dipping the candy and I needed to add a little bit of oil to make it thinner (1 Tab oil for 3/4 cup chips). I choose chips that have sugar and chocolate liquor as the main ingredients. Surprisingly enough, there are generic brands that have these ingredients and are better than the name brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe takes me back to my childhood! And at well lets just say 50+ that is some good old memories. I was very happy to find this and it is just as good as what my mom use to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajmatt
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Doubling the confectioners sugar will make the candy easier to handle, but DON'T DO IT! You want that creamy, melt-in-your-mouth experience. Instead, work with the candy. Freeze before handling, drop in teaspoons on waxed paper and freeze AGAIN, roll drops between hands and freeze AGAIN. Then dip. I do add one block of parafin to the semi-sweet chocolate chips for that glossy finish. Use one toothpick for dipping, another for removing the candy, and put a little piece of pecan over the hole (a hint for what's inside). I also toast my pecans before adding to recipe. I'm not very old, but all my aunts that make candy say mine are the best they've ever had, and beautiful, too! It's worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These were a hit with family and coworkers. I toke the advice given and used 2lbs of confectioners sugar, but I used 1 1/2 sticks of butter, this was just right. I also added parafin to the choc. and drizzled finished product with almond bark. They were beautiful and taste even better than they looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States