Marshmallow Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
We though these would taste more like rice rispy treats but the just didn't. They were ok but way too sweet. Maybe a little vanilla would help. We won't make these again. Too sweet and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Sooo good! Had to make a few quick subs due to lack of proper ingredients, but these were very tasty. I used Jiffy Pop and marshmallow fluff instead (note: marshmallow fluff is quicker than melting marshmallows). 1 package of popped Jiffy Pop, 1 jar of marshmallow fluff, 3 tbsp butter and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. As some others have suggested, I mixed in a large bowl and then pressed into the cake pan and cut into squares. This stuff is addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 13thBlackCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pryor, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made these for a party and had some older kids help shape them in balls. I had them wet their hands with water instead of butter. It worked perfectly, less mess. I also added 1 tsp of brown vanilla and ended up making a 2nd batch... the vanilla didnt taste well. I am not sure if the vanilla went rancid from the heat since I poured it directly into the pan with the butter and marshmallows. I also used 1 bag of microwave popcorn, Simply Salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Good. I looked in my pantry and decided I didnt just want popcorn, so I added 2 T more butter and 2 cups more marshmallow with 1t of mexican vanilla, then added about 2 cups of rice cereal and a handful of shredded coconut. Also mixed in sprinkles. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Excelent, a little green food color in the marshmallow satisfied my four year olds request for green popcorn! Very easy to make, taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
soooo good! I made with a bag of large marshmallows,(I didn't have mini) 2 bags of microwave popcorn with the 6tbs of butter. I pressed it into a 9X13 pan and cut into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Really good, really cheap and really easy! what more do you want? Followed others' suggestions and added 2tbsp brown sugar with melting butter and vanilla. also added flax meal for some modicum of nutrition. My one tip is to just wet your hands with water rather than using spray oil or butter - water actually worked better for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These were easy. I did alter the recipe for ease and with what I had on hand. I used microwave popcorn. I just popped one or two bags and put that in a greased 9x13 dish. You could probably just use a big mixing bowl too. I used light butter and melted some heart-shaped strawberry flavored marshmallows. Poured this over the top of the popcorn and sprayed cooking spray on my hands and rolled into balls. I thought they tasted good, like marshmallow treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
WOW! Delicious! We made the popcorn treats with store boughten popcorn and still used the same mixture as the original recipe and they turned out wonderful. Easy, fast and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe was very easy and quick. But, the taste was sort of bland. I used no butter microwave popcorn. My young child liked it in bits and pieces. Next time I would add more butter and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States