Marshmallow Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This is way too sweet to use as a frosting for just an everyday cake. I will find my grandmother's marshmallow frosting recipe to post here. It isn't as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I have been using this recipe for cakes for many years, I got the recipe from my grandmother. It is a very tasty icing, simple to make, and holds well...as long as the humidity isn't high. It should never be stored in the fridge, either. This icing will turn grainy (sugary) in either extreme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Tastes sooo good! My only worry was that it wasn't a great filler between layers of cake - the top tended to slide off the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was great! I made it exactly as written and it turned out perfectly. We had it with a plain ole white cake and it couldn't have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This icing is great! It is easy to work with, tastes wonderful, and looks fantastic! It doesn't take much time to "set", so you have to act fast when adding sprinkles that you need to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I've never made anything like this before, cooking eggs like that totally intimidates me. But it came out fabulous, even though I totally messed it up! I halved the recipe but then I got confused and used 2 egg whites anyway. I also didn't have any marshmallows so I used Fluff instead (I compensated by using a bit less sugar because the fluff is sweet). Then I misread about cooking and whipping it over rapidly boiling water, I just had it over simmering water. But even so, it came out very nice and fluffy, I was so surprised! And it wasn't too sweet, either. I absolutely loved it and it is perfect as a low-fat filling for a low-fat whoopie pie recipe that I've been working on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I gave this a 4 because I made a couple of changes. Tip1: Seeing as there are some users who found this recipe too sweet, make sure you taste your marshmallows before you use them so you can adjust the sweetness of your icing. In my case, I used really sweet ones so i lessened the sugar to 2/3 cup and omitted the corn syrup. Tip2: follow the procedure as written and make sure you cook the egg whites, sugar and water over the double boiler till it peaks. Beat it continuously as instructed. If you add in the marshmallows too soon, it'll be as flat as hot marshmallow fluff from a jar... Tip3:you can add another cup of marshmallows if you wish... I used 30pcs of the big ones. I know it doesn't measure the same but i'm pretty sure it's more than a cup. In my experience, more marshmallows = better viscosity especially if you want to pipe it on. So overall, this recipe was exactly what i was looking for but the sugar level needed a little adjusting to my taste... mmm fluffy marshmallow goodness... cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericaa.

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Excellent!!! Takes time to cook but YUM! afterwards! Tastes excellent with pepermint flavoring and ice chocolate cake! Looks beautiful with a touch of food coloring. Add after the marshmallows have melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Yummy! This tastes delicious. It did take longer than the recipes says, about 10 minutes to form peaks. I chopped my large marshmallows up as another reviewer recommended and they melted quickly. For a 9x13 cake you could half this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I put this on brownies and it was a huge hit!!! so light and flufffy!!! yummy!! will definatly use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States