Marshmallow Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
After reading the reviews, I think I expected to love this more but I thought it was just "pretty good". I made my son's first birthday cake and decided to use this frosting. I thought it held up well because I kept the cakes in the fridge due to the screaming hot weather but thought it had a grainy taste to it....maybe from the marshmallows? I didn't think that would happen since you have to cook the sugar so I'm assuming it's from later adding the marshmallows. I think next time, I'd try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Oh wow! This is awesome! I love this recipe because the icing stays put on the cake, yet is still gooey marshmallow. I made it for my husband who loves snowballs. I made a chocolate layer cake with whipped cream in the center. After applying the icing, I sprinkled on flaked coconut and it was to die for. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirjmiggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
What's not good about this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I put this on brownies and it was a huge hit!!! so light and flufffy!!! yummy!! will definatly use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Delicious! Loved the tast and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This icing is great! It is easy to work with, tastes wonderful, and looks fantastic! It doesn't take much time to "set", so you have to act fast when adding sprinkles that you need to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This is way too sweet to use as a frosting for just an everyday cake. I will find my grandmother's marshmallow frosting recipe to post here. It isn't as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I wish it was possible to give half stars because I would have given 4 and a half. It's very good and it's a nice alternative to just regular icing. Very gooey. Just a warning though, it's extremely sweet. It is a little time consuming to prepare and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Very good! I put it on cupcakes and the kids love them!!! They didn't last very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This makes me happy!!! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States