Marshmallow Ice Cream Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was very simple, and agreed, its very tasty. Also agree that marshmallows don't need to be chopped or pre melted; however, with that being said, this is not a good marshmallow topping for ice cream. It would be great for cakes, sweet potatoes, or other desserts, but not for ice cream. It gets stringy and chewy when it hits the cold ice cream... not what a good topping should do. So for that reason, because its listed as an ice cream topping recipe, I have to give it only two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
In the five minute simmer time you should stir constantly or reduce the amount of time you simmer. My sauce began to stick to the pan and created flecks of caramel in the sauce. I also didn't bother to melt the marshmallows separately since the sauce and pan was plenty warm enough to melth them until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I made this as described but did not pre melt the marshmallows. I just stired them into the hot liquid and they melted away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kamas, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great homemade fluff!!! I made it all in the microwave at 70% power and stirring avery 1-2 minutes until the marshmallow were melted. Came out perfect...Use minimarshmallows and skip the chopping!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATESJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was my first time making marshmallow sauce, so I may have done something wrong. Mine came out yummy - but a pale shade of caramel, not white. The syrup turned lt.brown while cooking. Is this the way it's supposed to be? I've made simple syrup before, but never with milk added. Still very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Better than the store bought fluff. I used this to top the too much chocolate cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
followed the recipe exactly with delicious results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This made a big mess and I thought it was okay, but not really worth the hassle. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I have been looking for a marshmallow topping for years. I have tried many recipes but this is, by far, the best! This recipe brought back fond memories of going with my Dad to Bailey's Ice Cream Shop in Boston for a hot fudge sundae dripping with marshmallow sauce running down the sides of the bowl onto a plate. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Love this recipe! I have been looking for a recipe like this for years. A family favorite treat! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States