Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made this with MARSHMALLOW FLUFF!!!! I definitely recommend to do it this way! Based on the previous reviews of saying to wait till the melted marshmallows cooled, I skipped the melting the marshmallows and water step and I placed a whole container of marshmallow fluff into the refrigerator over night. The next morning, I sprayed my kitchen aid very well with PAM, dumped the whole container of Marshmallow fluff into the KA and food coloring and confectioner/powdered sugar as needed. This really was not that difficult or messy at all. When the fondant was at a good consistency, I placed it into plastic wrap and into the freezer for about a 1/2 hour. I then rolled it out and it rolled really nicely. I used this fondant to cover a barbie doll cake than I made for my daughter's birthday! I spread a very thin layer of regular frosting onto the cakes surface to make sure the fondant would stick to the cake. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2804 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by campagnes
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I've used a very similar version of this recipe for years. It is WORLDS better than any prepackaged fondant you can buy, in ease of use, in taste, and especially economically. I've never added the extra vanilla, though I've occasionally added different flavoring oils. I've also never used the butter in this recipe, with no problems. A tip: If you need colored fondant, add the color to the hot marshmallow mixture before you start adding sugar. Otherwise you'll have to knead in the color later, which will result in technicolor hands and a potentially off texture. **Edit: Yesterday I used this recipe to make chocolate fondant. I added Americolor chocolate brown color to the melted marshmallows, and I also kneaded in about 1/2 cup sifted cocoa with the confectioner's sugar. After coating with shortening, wrapping in plastic and allowing to sit overnight, it was a bit dry, but water didn't help; I had to knead in some extra shortening to get it to a good texture (which didn't take long). Instead of dusting the countertop with confectioner's sugar when rolling it out, I just greased it with a little bit of shortening - it prevented sticking and gave the fondant a nice shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
For all you skeptics/"I'm not good enough"/"I can't do it"/doubters out there, YOU CAN DO THIS! It is soooooooo easy. I'm VERY new to cake/cupcake baking/decorating (just started playing around for fun in Oct 08). I made this last night for a legal pad sheet cake (11X15, my very first sheet cake) and it was super easy. I melted the marshmallows and added the water and vanilla...then panicked because I couldn't get it smooth. No prob, just kept nuking at 30 sec intervals. AT THIS POINT, I ADDED GEL FOOD COLORING to get my desired color (soooo much easier than adding at the kneading stage like I did the other time!). I added as much 10X sugar as I could w/a spoon, then turned it onto my HEAVILY GREASED (I use Crisco) counter to knead the rest in. I am impatient, so I attempted to roll it out and use it the same night I made it. Didn't work (however, it would have worked if I'd been using it for cut outs/decorations, just not for covering an entire cake). I put it back in a ball, rubbed some more shortening on it, then wrapped it in plastic wrap and put it in the frig til morning. After letting it warm, I rolled it on a cutting board sprinkled w/corn starch and had no problem getting it on the cake (I simply inverted the cutting board over the cake!). I want to also add that it was INCREDIBLY HUMID when I made this and it STILL worked super well. I'm telling you, give this a try; people will think you are a baking ROCK STAR for very minimal effort! TY for post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
811 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiele Briscoe
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
EDIT!!!!!! Don't use butter! Use Crisco... And yes it is hard to work with until you get the right consistency, just keep adding the powered sugar and it will work..... I found this recipe on-line last year and have been using it ever since. I use it on my sugar cookies and everyone always asks me what kind of frosting I used then never believe me when I tell them it is just marshmallows. Defiantly a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Photo by NEgirl
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I've been wondering where this recipe was...couldn't believe it wasn't on AR yet. I have used this a couple times and just love it. It is so easy and tastes sooo much better than the store bought fondant. The only thing I do differently is that I use vegetable shortening (Crisco) instead of melted butter to coat my hands and the counter when working with it, works wonders. Also this recipe comes out more ivory than white...so if you want a white fondant you can get the Wilton's Icing Color White-White (comes in a small 2 oz. bottle) to add to your fondant. Works wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was fun & easy. Adult PLAY-DOUGH! I made this fondant for first time - ever - & it turned out very nicely! Do increase the melting in microwave as much as needed, in 30 second intervals, (remember the water!) stirring in between. Stir in some of powdered sugar, plop the rest of the sugar on top, & then dump it onto a very well-greased surface. Expect to knead in most of the sugar - it's easier than stirring! Give fondant a film of butter/shortening before wrapping it to rest in fridge. To roll out, instead of powdered sugar, I sifted a small amount of cornstarch on counter & then top, rubbing each in. If it cracks, then knead in a 1/2 teaspoon of water. Your environment's humidity & temperature may require incrementally adding 2-3 teaspoons water. I used Wilton's "Icing Colors" which is a gel, and also tried Tree of India's all-natural liquid coloring. (T of I's yellow - from turmeric - is brilliant, their blue -from red cabbage - makes a deep purple, & their red - from beets - makes a flesh color!) This tastes exactly like its ingredients. Do not be intimidated; give your creative being the chance to play!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Hallelujah, it worked! This is the 3rd marshmallow fondant recipe I've tried in 3 days. Both of the others were huge flops. I'm making a cake for my parent's anniversary party and was desperate to find a good recipe for the fondant and this was it. It's PERFECT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I'm reviewing the making process only as I have my fondant in the fridge now and I'll update it after I've used it. I found this very easy to make for my first time fondant making! For those who aren't sure how many cups to use: 16oz bag marshmallows =10 cups; 2lb icing sugar =8 cups. I needed smaller amounts of colored fondant and divided this into 5 batches, making each separately. (perfect for accent colors on your cake or cupcakes). Use 2 cups marshmallows, 2.5tsp water, 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1.5cups of icing sugar for each batch. the butter, I just put a little on my fingers when first kneading. I added the color in while mixing, and it worked great! Cant wait to make my jungle cupcakes with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Well, after reading LTH's review of this fondant, I'll just say - yep. It's that easy. This was also my first attempt at fondant. I only needed cutouts to make pig ears, eyes, and snouts. I kneaded with my KA mixer and took out some white fondant before adding the pink gel coloring. For the ears I cut triangles out with a knife, then curled and formed them on waxed paper. I let them dry and added them to the frosted cookies. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thanks Kiele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
wow!!! this was just fanstastic, amazing, simple, and i could just go on and on and on. i have struggled for a long time with fondant. and this took the prize. and boy was it easy. it was completely idiot proof. even my sister could do it. i highly recommend it i can't believe it took me this long to finally stummble across the ONE. thank you, thank you, thank you. and know i shall continue to bake in my regular frenzy, did i spell that right oh who cares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ochie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 934) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States