Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kiele Briscoe
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
EDIT!!!!!! Don't use butter! Use Crisco... And yes it is hard to work with until you get the right consistency, just keep adding the powered sugar and it will work..... I found this recipe on-line last year and have been using it ever since. I use it on my sugar cookies and everyone always asks me what kind of frosting I used then never believe me when I tell them it is just marshmallows. Defiantly a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Photo by NEgirl
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I've been wondering where this recipe was...couldn't believe it wasn't on AR yet. I have used this a couple times and just love it. It is so easy and tastes sooo much better than the store bought fondant. The only thing I do differently is that I use vegetable shortening (Crisco) instead of melted butter to coat my hands and the counter when working with it, works wonders. Also this recipe comes out more ivory than white...so if you want a white fondant you can get the Wilton's Icing Color White-White (comes in a small 2 oz. bottle) to add to your fondant. Works wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Hallelujah, it worked! This is the 3rd marshmallow fondant recipe I've tried in 3 days. Both of the others were huge flops. I'm making a cake for my parent's anniversary party and was desperate to find a good recipe for the fondant and this was it. It's PERFECT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Great Fondant!!! I have been looking for one that's not so intimidating...and this is great!!! Taste good too! Only thing I did different was after mixing all the ingredients, I wrapped it with the saran wrap then kneaded from there. It did not stick nor was it as messy as I thought! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IhaveAsweetooth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
wow!!! this was just fanstastic, amazing, simple, and i could just go on and on and on. i have struggled for a long time with fondant. and this took the prize. and boy was it easy. it was completely idiot proof. even my sister could do it. i highly recommend it i can't believe it took me this long to finally stummble across the ONE. thank you, thank you, thank you. and know i shall continue to bake in my regular frenzy, did i spell that right oh who cares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ochie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by campagnes
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I've used a very similar version of this recipe for years. It is WORLDS better than any prepackaged fondant you can buy, in ease of use, in taste, and especially economically. I've never added the extra vanilla, though I've occasionally added different flavoring oils. I've also never used the butter in this recipe, with no problems. A tip: If you need colored fondant, add the color to the hot marshmallow mixture before you start adding sugar. Otherwise you'll have to knead in the color later, which will result in technicolor hands and a potentially off texture. **Edit: Yesterday I used this recipe to make chocolate fondant. I added Americolor chocolate brown color to the melted marshmallows, and I also kneaded in about 1/2 cup sifted cocoa with the confectioner's sugar. After coating with shortening, wrapping in plastic and allowing to sit overnight, it was a bit dry, but water didn't help; I had to knead in some extra shortening to get it to a good texture (which didn't take long). Instead of dusting the countertop with confectioner's sugar when rolling it out, I just greased it with a little bit of shortening - it prevented sticking and gave the fondant a nice shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was fun & easy. Adult PLAY-DOUGH! I made this fondant for first time - ever - & it turned out very nicely! Do increase the melting in microwave as much as needed, in 30 second intervals, (remember the water!) stirring in between. Stir in some of powdered sugar, plop the rest of the sugar on top, & then dump it onto a very well-greased surface. Expect to knead in most of the sugar - it's easier than stirring! Give fondant a film of butter/shortening before wrapping it to rest in fridge. To roll out, instead of powdered sugar, I sifted a small amount of cornstarch on counter & then top, rubbing each in. If it cracks, then knead in a 1/2 teaspoon of water. Your environment's humidity & temperature may require incrementally adding 2-3 teaspoons water. I used Wilton's "Icing Colors" which is a gel, and also tried Tree of India's all-natural liquid coloring. (T of I's yellow - from turmeric - is brilliant, their blue -from red cabbage - makes a deep purple, & their red - from beets - makes a flesh color!) This tastes exactly like its ingredients. Do not be intimidated; give your creative being the chance to play!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My sister is the one who made the red white and blue cake and this fondant is amazing!!!! it's just as good as any frosting to a cake...almost too good!!! :) and molds well as you can see by her awesome cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cricket aka MrsB
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very easy and tasty too! I have several colors in my fridge right now. It keeps very well if you rub the surface with shortening and wrap in plastic. I have also used it without letting it rest and had great results. I agree with another reviewer...adult play-dough...fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket aka MrsB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is such a great fondant recipe. I also use vegetable shortening instead of the butter. Its great because it can be made a couple days ahead of time and kept sealed in the fridge. I like to put the melted marshmallow in my greased stand mixer bowl, add about half the powdered sugar and blend. Then add the rest of the butter/crisco and powdered sugar a little at a time. Easier on the arms and less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States