Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
During the making process I wasn't sure that I was ever going to make this again, because it was sticky and very messy and everyone pulls the fondant off anyways. I decorated my sons bday cake and let it sit for a day and was amazed at how much better it tasted than store bought fondant. It was soft has a great flavor, even though its pure sugar, and just about everyone ate it!! I have decorated several cake and will continue to use this recipe. It does dry out fast once it's rolled so be sure to get it on your cake quickly, or it starts to crack a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was my first attempt at making fondant. I followed the directions and everything was fine until the cup of powdered sugar I reserved for kneading, seem to run out. The mixture became too sticky to work with and I had to add more powered sugar. Is this normal, or did I do something wrong? After continuously adding powdered sugar (about 1/2 lb) I was able to work it long enough to add in color. Maybe next time I will leave out the butter, and cut back a little on the water. One more question I had is, why even use butter? Couldn't you just use powdered sugar to make it not stick to everything? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Amazing. No complaints. Easy to work with, colors nicely with gel colors. Paint vodka over top of it once in place and you will get a nice shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I have been using a similar recipe, but mine says to crisco the bowl before you place the marshmellows in it...and then microwave. Also crisco the spoon you will be using. Dust your surfaces and hands with a 50/50 combination of confectoner's sugar and cornstarch. And when ever you use this fondant...feel it. If it feels dry, add a little..and I mean a very tiny amount of crisco. To handle it use the cornstarch/confectoner's sugar mix...put it in a square of thin linen and gather the edges and tie with a twist tie, use as a dusting bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This worked really well for us! I made two regular size batches. I cans see how some people had problems with their Kitchen Aid mixers breaking - you have to use the bread kneading hook after you put in a few cups of sugar. I only kneaded to mix in colors, came out smooth and putty like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmorin217

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Make sure you have TONS of butter on your hands! And scoop everything everything everything out of the bowl and into a pile before you start kneeding....or else you'll never be able to get it out.....sticky craziness! Best fondant I've ever eaten though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I have tried this and i like it, first time use it was very sticky but using it more got used to it made most of boys birthday cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swan River, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very easy to work with. Turned out great. I did use my kitchen aid - with the bread hook instead of kneading myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was soooo easy to make!!!! I will NEVER EVER buy premade fondant again..This was cheap and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
The fondant came out well....but after refrigerating overnight it became hard as a rock. is it a must to refrigerate the fondant?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States