Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by liana.ghazarian
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. I did it yesterday for the first time and it turned out great. I prepared in the morning, put in the fridge and started working with it in the afternoon. First i tried to roll when it was still cold and it didn't work. Then i waited a bit more and it rolled perfectly. Transferring it on a cake worked great even the very first time. This will be my fondant recipe. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TaraO
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I just made my first cake, butter cream and fondant from scratch. I have been skeptical of making a good fondant as I have not enjoyed it from when others make it. Today is my daughters 5th Birthday and I've got to say the fondant (along with the cake) was great. I can't wait to make another cake. The kids at her preschool wanted seconds and this recipe was easy to follow. I have to admit I'm not much of a baker but this fondant turned out great and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Granby, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe, the only thing i was confused about while making it is when do i stop adding sugar because the more i added the more my fondant started to crack. I used only a pound and a half of confectioners sugar because i noticed it started to crack and they say add sugar until its no longer sticky but that is not the case. First time making it and it came out great =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
AWESOME! I use this all the time! It can be tough to work with just like any fondant. I find microwaving it just a little when it gets tough helps alot! Just be careful not to Mic for so long that it melts. Also I always roll it onto parchment paper as it is very sticky and hard to pull off a countertop. The taste is pretty good. I get mixed reviews. I have also added in a jell-o mix before to turn it pink. It was strawberry flavored and tasted like a candy easter egg. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is fun to make, but you have to grease the bowl before you melt the marshmallows and grease your hands and counter surface before you begin to work with it. That makes the whole process much less of a headache. The kids were jealous because they thought I was playing with playdough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
A keeper! This is the first time I have made and worked with fondant. Using the tips by some of the top reviewers, I managed a pretty cake for my daughter's birthday. The tips from other reviewers that helped: 1. I used my big Kitchen Aid mixer with dough hook and greased the bowl. I think a smaller mixer might not have been able to handle the load. Definitely use the dough hook attachment. 2. I added the food color to the marshmallow mixture before adding the sugar. 3. I used clear vanilla flavoring to avoid color issues because I was going for a light aqua blue color. 4. I used Crisco instead of butter. I did have a little trouble with stickiness and had to roll it out a couple of times to get it smooth, adding more powdered sugar each time. Transferring the fondant to the cake itself was a little tricky, but there are YouTube videos that can help. Given the nature of the ingredients, it was way too sweet for me, but the kids loved it. Also, I put a thin layer of frosting on the cake and chilled it prior to placing the fondant to help the fondant stick to the cake. If you get air bubbles in the fondant, use the tip of a sharp knife to break them and smooth down. I think a fondant roller would have been helpful, but a frosting spatula worked okay for me. I will be using this same recipe for my older daughter's birthday next week. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Awesome recipe! As others have said, easy enough for beginners. Some of the tips that I found helpful are as follows: Melted my marshmallows over a double boiler in my mixing bowl, added water, but didn't bother with vanilla. Also added my color at this time. Transferred bowl to stand mixer, added powdered sugar, about 1 pound at a time, and mixed with dough hook, probably a total of 5 minutes. Turned dough out onto well greased counter, greased my hands, and kneed. This process is very easy, and although it sounds messy, it's actually not because over time most of the crisco gets absorbed into the dough and you just have a film to clean up.....MUCH easier than powdered sugar!!! I was using this dough for cut outs, I found it easiest to roll onto greased parchment paper and then pull away the extra dough. It is drying now, will probably take a couple of days.....wish me luck that they dry ok and come off of the parchment paper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starbirdfbnbg
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I swapped out the marshmallows for Marshmallow Fluff to make it vegetarian friendly (also left out the water) but it's definitely a good base recipe. Reasonably easy to work with and tastes a LOT better than store bought fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
During the making process I wasn't sure that I was ever going to make this again, because it was sticky and very messy and everyone pulls the fondant off anyways. I decorated my sons bday cake and let it sit for a day and was amazed at how much better it tasted than store bought fondant. It was soft has a great flavor, even though its pure sugar, and just about everyone ate it!! I have decorated several cake and will continue to use this recipe. It does dry out fast once it's rolled so be sure to get it on your cake quickly, or it starts to crack a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was my first attempt at making fondant. I followed the directions and everything was fine until the cup of powdered sugar I reserved for kneading, seem to run out. The mixture became too sticky to work with and I had to add more powered sugar. Is this normal, or did I do something wrong? After continuously adding powdered sugar (about 1/2 lb) I was able to work it long enough to add in color. Maybe next time I will leave out the butter, and cut back a little on the water. One more question I had is, why even use butter? Couldn't you just use powdered sugar to make it not stick to everything? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 899) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States