Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was my first experience with fondant - making it and decorating with it. I was very happy with the taste and the ease of using it for decorating. However, I felt the directions for making it are very difficult, particularly step 2. Since trying this recipe, I found a way I like much better. I pour most of the bag of powdered sugar onto a mat on my table, and make a well in center of it. Then I add the cooled melted marshmallow mixture to the well and begin scooping the powdered sugar up and over the mm mixture with my greased hands. I keep doing this over and over for several minutes until the mm mixture is no longer runny and not as sticky to the touch. Then I begin the kneading process. When I tried adding the powdered sugar as stated in this recipe, it was nearly impossible with the beaters after about one cup of sugar. I've made the fondant now about 6 times with my new approach and LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very easy to make. I kneaded in the KA stand mixer. Added gel color to the marshmallows while warm and mixed in. Very sweet..rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was my first time making fondant, and I have to admit- I was scared! But this recipe was so incredibly simple and it came out flawless! I will never buy fondant again- this recipe is wonderful and a money saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexInWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
What a fabulous recipe. I love to create, fondant is my new creative for the kids, and I am helping out a family member with making favors that have fondant cut outs. I thought I would try to make my own... after reading several recipes I almost bailed. This one seemed great, and the reviews with the tips helped a lot. I also used FLUFF, 16oz, added food color with the water and clear vanilla, greased the kitchenaid, and all that... it went smoothly. I will roll out tomorrow and allow the cut outs to sort of dry out. OH YEAH, and it tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I am sorry I don't really understand .. is that 1/4c of butter just to rub our hands with? or do we mix it with the dough? I made it yesterday with no butter in the dough and it's kind of dry. I did make 6 butterflies for a test and they came out OK but not shiny, the rest is still in my refrigerator. I read other fondant recipes, they use butter/shortening on the dough. The taste is good though, just dry and not shiny. Maybe if I put the butter in the dough it will be perfect and I will sure increase the star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimAnnMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Worked out great, just like everyone said it would! Only problem I had was that my low-budget stand mixer didn't want to deal with the thickness of the dough as it came together, so I ended up kneading the whole thing by hand for about 20 minutes. I even discovered (after I totally forgot to add the coloring while it was liquid) that you can melt it back down to semi-liquid form, mix in the food coloring, then let it harden again in the fridge, and it's none the worse for wear. Great that I won't have to waste the whole batch now, just because I forgot one step. This is super easy and tastes better than any real fondant (but it's still not really delicious, it tasted mostly like powdered sugar and not much else). Would be really good on a cake that's not super sweet itself, since this fondant plus a regular boxed cake was far too sweet, and I LOVE sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Tastes amazing. Very simple recipe. Definitely add the food colouring when you are stirring in the water/vanilla. So much easier and no mess on your hands. Also, make sure you coat EVERYTHING with oil/butter/crisco/slippery goo. It will stick to you like the Blob, otherwise. Especially your fingertips when you work the powdered sugar in, between kneading. Maybe I put too much aside when initially mixing it in and that's why? Who knows. Turned out wonderfully though! Will be rolling out tonight over a TARDIS cake for Dr Who. Will post pictures soon, hopefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
this is so good, very easy to model with! just like playdough! hahaha thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADABUGGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is a great fondant recipe. I used it to make 3 cakes, then I had extra which I used about 2 weeks later, and it was still great. Only problem I ran into was when adding food colour, you need to add a lot more icing sugar. This recipe is easy to make, and holds up well on cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Phenomenal!! I too, used my Kitchen Aid with dough hook. I used Crisco to grease bowl and hook, just sat my mixing bowl on top of 5 Q pot with boing water for 5 min or so, then put it straight on the mixing stand. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States