Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I am sorry I don't really understand .. is that 1/4c of butter just to rub our hands with? or do we mix it with the dough? I made it yesterday with no butter in the dough and it's kind of dry. I did make 6 butterflies for a test and they came out OK but not shiny, the rest is still in my refrigerator. I read other fondant recipes, they use butter/shortening on the dough. The taste is good though, just dry and not shiny. Maybe if I put the butter in the dough it will be perfect and I will sure increase the star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimAnnMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Worked out great, just like everyone said it would! Only problem I had was that my low-budget stand mixer didn't want to deal with the thickness of the dough as it came together, so I ended up kneading the whole thing by hand for about 20 minutes. I even discovered (after I totally forgot to add the coloring while it was liquid) that you can melt it back down to semi-liquid form, mix in the food coloring, then let it harden again in the fridge, and it's none the worse for wear. Great that I won't have to waste the whole batch now, just because I forgot one step. This is super easy and tastes better than any real fondant (but it's still not really delicious, it tasted mostly like powdered sugar and not much else). Would be really good on a cake that's not super sweet itself, since this fondant plus a regular boxed cake was far too sweet, and I LOVE sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Tastes amazing. Very simple recipe. Definitely add the food colouring when you are stirring in the water/vanilla. So much easier and no mess on your hands. Also, make sure you coat EVERYTHING with oil/butter/crisco/slippery goo. It will stick to you like the Blob, otherwise. Especially your fingertips when you work the powdered sugar in, between kneading. Maybe I put too much aside when initially mixing it in and that's why? Who knows. Turned out wonderfully though! Will be rolling out tonight over a TARDIS cake for Dr Who. Will post pictures soon, hopefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
this is so good, very easy to model with! just like playdough! hahaha thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADABUGGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is a great fondant recipe. I used it to make 3 cakes, then I had extra which I used about 2 weeks later, and it was still great. Only problem I ran into was when adding food colour, you need to add a lot more icing sugar. This recipe is easy to make, and holds up well on cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Phenomenal!! I too, used my Kitchen Aid with dough hook. I used Crisco to grease bowl and hook, just sat my mixing bowl on top of 5 Q pot with boing water for 5 min or so, then put it straight on the mixing stand. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Looks awesome. I was wondering, can you make this and shape in advance. I need to shape the fondant like swiss cheese. Will they stay a few days in advance in an air tight container?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
so easy! I was terrified to try making a fondant cake but this was so easy. I used Crisco and added the food coloring before adding the sugar. After leaving it in the fridge overnight I did microwave it to get it up to room temperature faster as I was getting impatient. Now I need to master covering a cake without showing the folds on corners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I have to give recipes a bad rap, but this recipe is a mess! It almost broke the beater, and very unpleasent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
When I make fondant I pour the confectioners sugar in my kitchen aid bowl,pour the hot marshmallow in and use the kneading attachment. works great and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States