Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Gyntastic
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe worked very well and tasted good too! It took a little practice to get it down just right, but when we did it worked very well. Make sure that you let it set for at least the 8 hours as stated. That is very important. If you cut the time short it will be too sticky to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gyntastic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I am an experienced cake decorator, but had never used fondant - this is a great recipe after tweaking the directions. Many thanks to Cassandra for her revised directions for mixing. I initially tried using my stand mixer and wound up with a sticky mess climbing up the beaters. Cassandra's instructions to "...pour most of the bag of powdered sugar onto a mat on my table, and make a well in center of it. Then I add the cooled melted marshmallow mixture to the well and begin scooping the powdered sugar up and over the mm mixture with my greased hands. I keep doing this over and over for several minutes until the mm mixture is no longer runny and not as sticky to the touch. Then I begin the kneading process." This technique was fast and not messy at all. I did use a very small amount of Crisco on my hands at the beginning. Thanks for the great recipe - will add almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by socialbug
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was the best recipe! The last time I made fondant, I used someone's suggestion of using marshmallow fluff. It did not work. This time, I followed the recipe. It worked great! I made my son a skylander's cake and he is thrilled with the results. This was easy to make, easy to use. I did use one reviewers suggestion to use cornstarch when rolling it out. That worked great! For the stone on the portal, I crumpled a brown paper bag and it gave the texture of stone. I will use this again! It was easier than decorating with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
absolutly perfect! I have made marshmellow fondant before but was always chewy and marshmallowy. This recipe with the addition of the water cuts that and made a perfect texture that was easy to roll, cut and form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jarboe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
It turned out very well. It is very sweet though. I would not recommend using a hand mixer while trying to mix this as it does not work well. I found using the bread hook on my stand mixer worked the best. It was a big hit at the party and people loved the cake. It makes it look like it was done professional. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland Landing, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
i tried the marshmallow fondant cake for the very first time for my daughter's second birthday and it turned out a complete hit! forgot to add vanilla extract but it didn't make any difference. just follow the recipe as it is and you will get the perfect thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So easy, so fine! it has been something new here in Italy and my cakes now are so glamour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I chose to make small portions per Littldot's instructions (2 cups marshmallows, 2.5tsp water, 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1.5 cups of icing sugar for each batch adding vegetable shortening on fingers when needed), and it worked perfectly. My first small batch was kneaded in about 10 minutes to get the right consistency! I did add coloring after AND it was a pain - Mix at the beginning!! This was my first time making fondant, and it was very easy, really! It has a great taste, and that is rarely the case with fondant! Try it in small portions if you are skeptical, it will change your mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My son wanted a "Club Penguin" cake for his birthday last year. Thank you so much for this recipe. I had no idea what I was doing but this saved me. I made an igloo, "puffles", penguins, etc. Not professional but he loved it and everyone thought it was so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I've never made fondant before, but decided to try this based on reviews. It turned out great! I made a double recipe because I needed not only to cover a round 4 layer cake, but I needed enough for decorations too. I ended up with plenty, and some left over. I made a few changes to the recipe because I was rushed for time: I stuck two large containers of marshmallow fluff in the freezer for about a half hour and then used them instead. I didn't use any water, but I did add the vanilla to the fluff. I then added powdered sugar about one cup at a time. Here's where I had problems: I dont have a stand mixer, so I tried mixing it with a hand mixer, and it failed miserably, wrapping the dough all up around to the top of the beaters. IT WON'T WORK, SO SAVE THE TIME AND DON'T TRY IT! I had to mix this by hand. Using a spoon wasn't working, so I tried using my hands. That was even worse. My husband had to scrape all the sticky fluff off me. Finally I just covered a wooden spoon in butter and stirred it. Much better! It was hard work though, and took forever! This recipe calls for 2 lbs of powdered sugar, but even doubling the recipe I DIDN'T double the sugar and it turned out fine and was plenty sweet! After making it I wrapped it and stuck it in the freezer for a half hour, and then took it out and let it set for another half hour. Kneading took about 15 minutes. Don't roll it too thin, and make sure to chill immediately. My cake fell apart because I didn't do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States