Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crystalicious
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I tried dusting the surface with icing sugar but still ended up sticking - greasing the work surface with butter worked much better. My first attempt at ever using fondant went VERY well, all thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timelocked
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent, easy recipe. Like others here, I used shortening rather than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Easiest fondant recipe ever! To one batch, I added dark chocolate cocoa. I also used the powdered cocoa instead of powdered sugar for kneading the dough. Delicious chocolate fondant. TAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I love to bake but I have never decorated with fondant or anything other than frosting really! I decided to try for my kids' birthday cake and tried two other times to make my own with no success. Then I stumbled upon this recipe...what a difference!! Not only was it easy to make, it didn't stick to the counter and rolling pin, and it didn't dry out or get crumbly like the others did. I was able to easily roll it and transfer to the cake without incident and smoothing it out was a breeze. I will definitely be using this from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Mahler
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I just made my first cake using fondant for my daughter's graduation party, and this recipe worked like a dream. I was very nervous to attempt something that has a reputation for being difficult, but the results were amazing! I made the fondant a couple of days ahead and kept it in the fridge. It was quite sticky when I first started to knead it and stuck to the work surface a few times before I figured out a good trick. I greased up my counter with butter, smoothed down a sheet of parchment (which also helped me to judge the correct size for my 9x13 cake) and then I greased the parchment on top, and dusted powdered sugar on it. I rolled out the fondant, and then rolled it all up on my rolling pin (parchment and all) to transfer it to the cake. It turned out great! No tears, no wrinkles...perfection! I got SO many compliments on the appearance and the taste! I'll be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Mahler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I searched all over the internet to find the easiest fondant recipe. I did not want to pay $2+ a piece for fondant cupcakes for my daughter's first birthday party. This recipe was very easy to make. I used the dough hook on my KitchenAid stand mixer to knead the fondant. It was a very simple process. The only change that I made was using vegetable shortening instead of butter. I recommend adding coloring directly to the melted marshmallow mixture. It was much easier, than trying to knead it in. (I tried it both ways.)My cupcakes came out great for a first timer. Now I'm going to practice more designs. I made my flowers ahead of time, stored them in a plastic container and covered each with wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddiebras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I've never really tried to work with fondant before and I wanted to make a cake for a bridal shower so I gave this recipe a try. It was really easy and turned out great for a first timer. I did as another reviewer suggested and used marshmallow fluff and used my Kitchenaid mixer with the dough hook and it came together quickly. I added the gel color to the marshmallow fluff then added the powdered sugar. I popped it into the freezer for about an hour then kneaded it on a mat with a little cornstarch and it was pretty smooth sailing. I did put a crumb coat or "dirty ice" my cake and put the layers in the freezer to set up while I made the fondant so it would have something to adhere to and the cake would be firm enough to play around with. All-in-all not a bad experience for my first foray with fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
awesome! I have been dabbling in cake-making for a few years now, just for fun, but I usually use the store-bought, which tastes bland, at best. This recipe is SO easy and SO cheap though, it's just fantastic! I make my own vanilla extract (seriously, so easy and cheap, and makes a great gift!) and I was worried that it would tint the fondant, but it honestly looked just as white as the store-bought, and tasted amazing! I sprayed my bowl with pam before nuking the mallows, and then turned the melted mallows out into my sprayed kitchenaid for all of the mixing (saved my arms!). definitely keep a glob of Crisco and a box of powdered sugar nearby when kneading right before use. I also got a small spray bottle and I put a bit of vodka in it to spray the fondant with after it's on the cake. it absorbs the excess powdered sugar and gives it a clean, even, finished look when the alcohol evaporates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was my second recipe to try making, and it worked perfectly! It even mixed the color in very easily, even if you don't do it at the liquid stage. Thanks so much!! It was very tasty; I will probably always use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Tasted better than any fondant I've had! Easy to work with. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 903) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States