Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Fantastic!!!! I mixed this all up in my kitchen aid w/ excellent results and less mess! I made this a few days before and refrigerated it until I was ready to use it, just bring it to room temp first. I used this to cover cookies and it really worked well...This recipe a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is an old family recipe, and always works well. A few changes: I don't use a mixer!! Mix is by hand all the way, but make sure to use plenty of Crisco in your hands! I only use 1 tablespoon of water. That's pretty much it. you don't have to add the vanilla, and you can add other flavors as well. Also MAKE SURE you are using a full 16 oz package of marshmallows. A lot of the bags are only 10 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
What is wrong with everyone?! I followed the recipe exactly and it was awful. It was sickly sweet and it got all over my kitchen. It even got in my hair. It was way too sticky and I will never try to make my own fondant again. It's a shame too because I was looking forward to decorating my own cakes like the professionals. In the end, it turned out to be a waste of money and a huge waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
it required and additional pd of confectionary sugar for me to get this to turn to a dough like substance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Damren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe a lot and I love it but my fondant always ends up being really shiny which I really don't like. Anyone have a suggestion on how to get rid of that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Colsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is what happened to me, my first time ever with fondant. I am no expert but I thought that I would give it a try for a baby shower cake. Microwaving the marshmallows did not work. I followed the instructions but the marshmallows would not melt; they would puff up in the bowl then deflate. I have a standard over the oven microwave. I would zap them 30 seconds, stir, zap them some more. They would not melt, instead they started turning brown. So I threw them out and started over. I melted them in a large pot on low heat; they melted beautifully. I put the 2 lbs. of powdered sugar into my Kitchenaid with a dough hook. I poured the melted marshmallow mixture over the sugar then turned the mixer on low. It didn't take long to make a nice paste. I then kneaded the dough by hand and followed Wilton's direction on adding colors with a toothpick. I needed to make about 5 different shapes, so I would use a little dough, add a little color. I was not impressed with Wilton's colors. No matter how little or how much more I added, it never gave the color that I wanted; it looked nothing like the colors on their box. I would also like to say that if you are using the whole bowl of fondant to cover a cake, it would probably be easier to add the color in the mixer with the hot melted marshmallow & sugar so the color is fully mixed in. It is difficult to knead in color in a large batch of fondant by hand to get the designed color all through. The fondant does taste great, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This recipe came out great. I melted the marshmallows although I heard of others using marshmallow puff. I wanted to make this recipe as organic, so I used Pete ' s Gourmet Marshmallows. The melted wonderfully and the the treats were delicious! For those of you that want to try a different kind of marshmallow, here's where I ordered mine. Petesgourmet.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Tastes great and works great so far (still working on cake). But, it can be really super sticky. I got it stuck all over my hands trying to knead it. So two tips for those wanting to make this (and myself for the future): 1. Use an electric mixer (yes I tried it manual lol) 2. Coat your hands with crisco, the butter doesn't work that well. If you don't you will end up with a sticky mess all over your hands. Follow those two rules of thumb and you will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Crystalicious
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I tried dusting the surface with icing sugar but still ended up sticking - greasing the work surface with butter worked much better. My first attempt at ever using fondant went VERY well, all thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timelocked
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent, easy recipe. Like others here, I used shortening rather than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States