Marshmallow Crispie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
VERY GOOD! I took the suggestion of adding an extra 1/2 cup of cereal, and the consistency was perfect...not too sticky and gooey. The vanilla really adds to the flavor, and using real butter is highly recommended. I do suggest either making a double batch for the 9X13 pan, or using a 9X9 or 8X8 for the original amount; I like thicker bars. Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
The recipe was pretty good following the original recipe. I thought that it had a bit of a gritty/powdery taste to it. With the second batch I increased the cereal to 6 cups and added a tablespoon of the vanilla,and a teaspoon of corn syrup. They were so much better. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
RICE CRISPIE BARS = GOOEY OR WHY MAKE THEM!?? Great recipe - vanilla is a nice touch. I always melt my butter in the microwave and then mix in the marshmellows.... microwave another 15 seconds then mix in the cripies. Easier than than the pan. I like them thick also, so I make them in a 7 x 11 brownie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Perfect! I've never made rice crispie treats with vanilla, but it adds a great softness to the flavor. These are perfect as-is, but I just made a batch for Saint Patrick's day with these changes: cut back a little on the butter, went a little heavy on the marshmallows, and instead of vanilla I added (of course) green food coloring (about 10-12 drops for a double batch) and a few tablespoons of Irish Cream liquor. After I patted this into a 13x9 pan, I topped it with 1/4 cup each white, milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips, which I had melted and mixed with a tablespoon of butter and another few tablespoons of Irish Cream (this is the top layer of the Irish Cream Truffle Fudge recipe found here!). It spreads on top in a thin layer. They're a hit here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These are excellent as is. Gooey and tasty. I made a few changes for later batches: 1/2 tsp vanilla (to make the taste a bit more mild), 5 cups rice crispies, also I added 1/4 cup of chocolate chips after I had almost completely mixes the bar mix (after they were not really warm). The butter and marshmallows amounts were the same. They produced great results. By waiting to add chips until after somewhat cool you keep the chips from melting into the marshmallow and getting messy. I preferred them this way for pops of chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
If you like gooey then look no farther. Like previous people I use the microwave. For the best flavor use real butter,.. a little extra doesn't hurt! ;)I also doubled the vanilla extract, and added an additional 1/2 cup of rice crispy cereal. I pressed into heart shaped pans and will be sending out "care packages" to my kids who are away at Universities. They'll be thrilled to have this childhood favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I know this sounds ridiculous but I DON'T make Rice Krispe Bars - I tend to burn the marshmellow (or something) b/c they ALWAYS - NEVER FAIL - Come out hard as a rock!! Therefore, I always let my mom make them until last night!! I did increase the krispies by a 1/2c and THEY WERE SOFT!! They are marshmellowy but not soggy! (I might try 5c of rice krispies next time - keep your fingers crossed that this increase won't ruin them). I will keep using this recipe b/c it was the first time these worked for me!! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Since my kids are long grown and gone I haven't made these in ages, but when I found strawberry flavored marshmallows on the store shelf I decided to make an old favorite with a new twist. They turned a pretty pink and were flecked with the handful of dried mixed berries I threw in for color and interest. I liked this recipe for its addition of vanilla and for the extra gooiness, as the original calls for more Rice Krispies to the same amount of marshmallows. However, after adding four cups of cereal I agree with some others that it needed another half cup. I used an 8x8" pan for thicker bars. Other than learning I don't care for these made with strawberry flavored marshmallows (tho' I'm sure kids would love it!) these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
great proportions, and i liked the softness the added vanilla lent to the flavor. i made this with cheerios instead of rice krispies, and it turned out beautifully. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Turned out great! If you only have large marshmallows, there are 8 large marshmallows to 1 cup of miniature marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States