Marshmallow Crispie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by AutiMama
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
These were great! NOTE: don't let the butter burn, slow and steady wins this race! If the butter burns it will make these tough and of course bad tasting. I added half a cup of creamy PB to the marshmallow, and cocoa rice crispy instead of plain! Greased the pan and let sit over night. Then I double boil some chocolate chips and a TBSP of peanut butter and drizzled it over the done bars ... sooo yummy!! Great base of a recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Didn't use stove. Microwaved the butter, vanilla, and Elyon (fat free/gluten free) marshmallows. Used Natures Path brown rice puffs. Made into balls instead of bars. A fun way to spend family time together on a rainy day! 2 year old loved it. Husband wouldn't stop sneaking in bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
delicious not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
dont skip the vanilla in fact sometimes i add a little extra its what makes these the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Love the recipe just the way it is. The first time I read reviews first so added more rice krispies which made them not as gooey. the next time I thought I had enough rice krispies but apparently someone had helped themself to the cereal so i had about 1/4 cup less than the recipe called for. That actually made them pretty gooey and tastey. I am sure when I make the recipe the 3rd time with the right amount of ingredients it calls for it'll be just right. I did add a tad bit more vanilla and some m&m's for the holiday (xmas and valentines day). The only change is i would DEFINITELY double the recipe. This recipe only makes a small pan's worth, or very thin bars. Delicious recipe - will make forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love these! I've made krispie treats since my preteen years, but this seems like the best way to do them! One note- last time I added the cereal before the mini marshmallows had completely lost their shape. The outcome was less mess in the pot and a treat that had a few marshmallow "chunks". Reminded me of what I can buy at Starbucks :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I followed the advice of the other users and doubled the quantity of all the ingredients. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Gooey = good. These are the kind they don't tell you about on the box of Rice Krispies. Great recipe! I also added the extra 1/2 cup of cereal per batch and doubled the batch. I made mine with my daughter today in the microwave, and added about a cup of crushed peppermint hard candies, and sprinkled red sugar on top and they were pretty and best of all, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this twice. The first time, following another reviewers suggestion, I added more cereal and it was way too dry, but the second time, I followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing!!! The vanilla is the key to making it extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Since my kids are long grown and gone I haven't made these in ages, but when I found strawberry flavored marshmallows on the store shelf I decided to make an old favorite with a new twist. They turned a pretty pink and were flecked with the handful of dried mixed berries I threw in for color and interest. I liked this recipe for its addition of vanilla and for the extra gooiness, as the original calls for more Rice Krispies to the same amount of marshmallows. However, after adding four cups of cereal I agree with some others that it needed another half cup. I used an 8x8" pan for thicker bars. Other than learning I don't care for these made with strawberry flavored marshmallows (tho' I'm sure kids would love it!) these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States