Marshmallow Chocolate Chip Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
My in laws were visiting and my father in law mentioned this pie and how it was a secret family recipe. So of course, I looked and found it on here and made it for him :) He was very happy and said that it tasted exactly the same as when his sister makes it. It was super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Everyone loved it! I used chocolate chips to grate them in the mixture, and got tired of grating after a while so I put a handful on top with the cracker crumbs which looked pretty. It would be good with chocolate syrup drizzled on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boyd, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This pie was easy. We don't have Graham crackers here in Aussie but I just happened to have some from a USA outlet. But any pie base made of sweet biscuits could be used for this too. For the Aussies too I used all the white marshmallows out of 2 Pascalls marshmallow packets. Was about 40 of them. Worked out great though. (now I have to eat all the pink ones!) Really yummy. The guests enjoyed it too - thank goodness, as they were taste testers as well! Made a decent sized pie in the springform tin. We have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
My mother use to make a pie like this, it was called Icebox pie,I always loved it and so does my family. for years I lost the recipe and made my own version of it. before I used 40 marshmallows and and a tsp of vanilla and a beaten egg added to the mixture. I also used a premade graham crust. I made this one as it is and its delisious too. A rich and delicious pie. I think it fools you because it doesnt really taste like marshmalllows..it taste GREAT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Just had a piece of this pie - it's delicious! Be warned the filling appears too thin when poured in the pie shell (I used Keebler's premade graham crust)but it sets perfectly overnight. A very nice, light pudding-like taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I love this pie! So easy to make & so impressive. Men really love this one, I've found. In Australia, we only have a few brands of marshmallows & they're always mixed pink & white in the packet, so I make 1 pink & 1 white pie -both look great. One of my favourite recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anj
Home Town: Ipswich, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This tasted like creamy chocolate marshmallows, but very good. I used chocolate chips but ran them through the food processor. I think this would be good with about 1 1/2 ounces of white chocolate peppermint Hershey's kisses instead of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake23
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This pie is absolutely delicious. It does seem a bit thin when poured in, but after being refrigerated for a few hours comes out with two layers of goodness. Tastes good with or without chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made thisfor my dad's birthday, coincedentally my mom came back with a cake from the bakery. Nonetheless, we served both and everyone ignored the cake once they had a bite of this !! It was amazing. Definately a keeper and will make more often for sure !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This pie is fantastic! I misread the recipe and instead of using grated chocolate I used chocolate chips which of course sunk through the marshmellow mixture and out of sight! However, once the pie had set and been covered with broken oreos instead of graham crackers it looked fine. It was most fun as people cut into it and discovered all the chocolate chips at the bottom! I would recommend doing this for children as they loved trying to find them all! ha ha. A happy mistake with a great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States