Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Yum! I added more powdered sugar because I needed a larger quantity. Fluffy and yummy. Also used it in homemade oatmeal cream pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I admit that I was skeptical about a buttercream that uses SO MUCH butter and SO LITTLE powdered sugar! However, the marshmallow creme stirs in like a dream and adds a fluffiness that I've never see in a buttercream! This frosting melts in your mouth and the almond flavor is delectable. I was looking for a delicious, light textured frosting for delicate, tiny sandwich cookies I'm making for a wedding. This is marvelous, and I will use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuciaZoe
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was delicious! everyone loved it, even someone who claimed not to like marshmallows. Goes great with chocolate cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuciaZoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was so excited to try this recipe. I love marshmallow and buttercream so I thought this was a match made in heaven. I was so disappointed. It was so sickening sweet, I wouldn't even use it as-is. Even having read the reviews, I used short cups of powdered sugar, so probably used about an 1/8 - 1/4 cup less than the recipe called for. In an attempt to salvage all these ingredients, I bought another small jar of marshmallow cream and folded that into the frosting. That did help mellow out super sweet powdered sugar taste a little. My advice to anyone making the 1st time it is to add only 2 cups (or less) or powdered sugar. Then at the end set maybe a 1/4 of the butter/sugar mixture off the side. Add the marshmallow cream to the remaining butter/sugar mixture. If it not too sweet, fold some of the butter/sugar mixture back into the marshmallow cream mixture. That way you can better control the sweetness level. This recipe makes so much, you probably won't miss any extra butter/sugar you don't use. If you have extra, you can always adjust your recipe for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My new go-to cupcake recipe- Pipes beautifully. To make Mocha Marshmallow cupcakes add cocoa in with the powdered sugar and a bit of espresso powder. I add powdered sugar in until the consistency seems right, usually more than the recipe calls for. Makes a lot, I frosted 50+ cupcakes generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Good, but extremely sweet for me, and I normall love sweet desserts. It didn't really have a marshmallow taste to it at all. I may try to take away half a cup of the confectioner's sugar and use only 1 cup of butter for a fluffier frosting with more marshmallow taste. Oh, and this recipe leaves you with enough frosting to do a huge double layer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeespirit
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
it was so fluffy and delicious it was like tasting heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Excellent!! Thankyou so much, I've been looking for an easy frosting with marshmallow creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I was afraid that the marshmallow creme would be hard to incorporate, but, it folded in beautifully. This is a really soft and fluffy frosting! I don't think I would use it as my go to icing, but, it was good and the hint of almond was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
New favorite frosting recipe! It's easy and delicious, much lighter and fluffier than regular butter cream frosting and I love the marshmallow flavor. Followed the recipe exactly but subbed vanilla for almond extract since I hate almond extract. Piped it onto cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States